Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: remote control of 511 floodlights  (Read 5185 times)

ksungela

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
remote control of 511 floodlights
« on: June 26, 2006, 10:59:27 AM »

HI,
I want to use the palm remote to turn my floodlights on/off, not the motion sensor.  What seting do I need to make on the floodlight to make this happen.
Thanks
Ken
Logged

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: remote control of 511 floodlights
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2006, 12:30:47 AM »

The best suggestion I can make is to set the "RANGE" to "MIN", set the "DUSK" to "DARK", set the "TIME DELAY" to "0.1", set the "THIS UNIT" switch to "SENSOR" and put some light blocking material over the front of the "MOTION MONITOR" just for good measure.
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

TakeTheActive

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 126
  • Posts: 1047
  • Old !@#$% Tinkerer!
Re: remote control of 511 floodlights
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2006, 05:59:38 PM »

...I want to use the palm remote to turn my floodlights on/off, not the motion sensor.  What seting do I need to make on the floodlight to make this happen.

Why don't you just buy a 'plain-vanilla' floodlight fixture (Home Depot / Lowes - no photocells, no motion detector; just 2 lamp sockets and a base) and control it with an X-10 Wall Switch?  ???
Logged
Low Post Count != Low Knowledge - High Post Count != High Knowledge ;)

ADVICE TO X-10 NEWBIES FROM AN X-10 OLD-TIMER

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: remote control of 511 floodlights
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2006, 08:34:21 PM »

Good advice... if you haven't already installed the 511.   ;D

-Bill-
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

TakeTheActive

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 126
  • Posts: 1047
  • Old !@#$% Tinkerer!
Re: remote control of 511 floodlights
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2006, 11:20:23 PM »

Good advice... if you haven't already installed the 511.   ;D

Yeah, but...  :-[

The best suggestion I can make is to set the:
  • "RANGE" to "MIN"
  • "DUSK" to "DARK"
  • "TIME DELAY" to "0.1"
  • "THIS UNIT" switch to "SENSOR"
  • and put some light blocking material over the front of the "MOTION MONITOR" just for good measure

seems like such a KLUDGE.  ::)  ;)

Why did he buy a PR511 if he doesn't want to utilize the "Built-In" features?  ???

Now, I actually SEPARATED the two parts of the PR511 in my last install. Originally, I had a Heath SL-5320 (hardwired to Housecode 'C' - remember those days?), that I replaced with a PR511, wired as prescribed. But, after a few years of using my CM11A (and reading about the Leviton Floods), I wired the second PR511 differently. Instead of letting the internal relay control the floods, I wired the floods directly to an X-10 Wall Switch (so the internal relay does *NOTHING*). But, I put the PR511 on my "Motion Sensors" Housecode and use it to trigger macros:

  • Sunset / Dusk - 4.5 hours worth of internal lights ON and DIMMING
  • Sunrise / Dawn - massive OFF commands to insure 'things' aren't running 24x7 while we're away on vacation, etc...
  • Motion Detected - enhanced to simulate the Leviton

So now, motion in the back yard turns on both the back yard and front yard floods (and vica versa).
Logged
Low Post Count != Low Knowledge - High Post Count != High Knowledge ;)

ADVICE TO X-10 NEWBIES FROM AN X-10 OLD-TIMER

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: remote control of 511 floodlights
« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2006, 11:33:27 PM »

Just to elaborate,

The installation on my "manufactured home"  :-[ was so difficult that even if I wanted to replace the unit with something "simpler", the thought of going through all of that again would seriously deter me.

I agree, why buy something with all the features if you don't want to use them?

My point, however, was that if you already have it and don't want to spend the extra money (and/or frustration) with replacing it, maybe the settings I supplied would make it work well enough for now.

-Bill-
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

TakeTheActive

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 126
  • Posts: 1047
  • Old !@#$% Tinkerer!
Re: remote control of 511 floodlights
« Reply #6 on: July 09, 2006, 11:41:32 PM »

...The installation on my "manufactured home"  :-[ was so difficult that even if I wanted to replace the unit with something "simpler", the thought of going through all of that again would seriously deter me.

Either way, you *STILL* have to climb the ladder!  :)

And, I'm pretty confident in stating that there's 'probably' a SPST switch already in place to control that fixture.

[I'm *NOT* degrading (what do the KIDS call it? 'DISSING') your reply - I'm just offering an alternative.]
Logged
Low Post Count != Low Knowledge - High Post Count != High Knowledge ;)

ADVICE TO X-10 NEWBIES FROM AN X-10 OLD-TIMER

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: remote control of 511 floodlights
« Reply #7 on: July 10, 2006, 12:03:14 AM »

No offense taken.

Just saying that in my case the compressed garbage (possibly literally) that my home had for an electrical box split and shattered when I looked at it, let alone tried to put a screw into it and I'm seriously dreading the day the caulk lets go and I have to find a better way of securing it.

-Bill-
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: remote control of 511 floodlights
« Reply #8 on: July 10, 2006, 11:22:18 AM »

Sounds like you and your friendly local electrician should be getting together.

Only thing worse is Federal Pacific Stab-Loc (TM) breakers.  The electrician's tool for seating them is a rubber mallet.   :(

Been there, done that.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 138
  • Posts: 6112
Re: remote control of 511 floodlights
« Reply #9 on: July 10, 2006, 11:49:32 AM »

Yeah, but once they have been "seated" you probably don't have to worry about X10 signal loss across the breaker's connection to the distribution bus. Yup we had a home in michigan where 120V, 60 Hz 15 amps worked fine but X10 100 KHz bursts would not couple across. That took me about a year to finally figure out.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: remote control of 511 floodlights
« Reply #10 on: July 10, 2006, 10:44:56 PM »

Sounds like you and your friendly local electrician should be getting together.

Actually, the last place I re-wired for my landlord, all the inspector could complain about was that it was actually ABOVE CODE because they hadn't adopted the latest version of NEC yet!  The only reason I'm not certified is that I haven't had the patience to work 10,000 or so hours under someone who is certified so that the state will ALLOW me to take the test.

I've just been to lazy to get off my behind, tear everything apart and install a quality retro-fit box.   :-[
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.