X10 Community Forum

📱🖥️PiX10Hub => 🏥Help and Trouble Shooting => Topic started by: edjal on January 24, 2020, 08:13:19 AM

Title: HomeGenie Network Down???
Post by: edjal on January 24, 2020, 08:13:19 AM
It looks like HG network is down. Cant reach Hg or cant logon using puttyeither. 
Title: Re: HomeGenie Network Down???
Post by: edjal on January 24, 2020, 08:25:10 AM
can some confirm HG network is down??
Title: Re: HomeGenie Network Down???
Post by: petera on January 24, 2020, 09:01:22 AM
can some confirm HG network is down??

It's all LAN based, no dependence on external servers so the only network down is your own ISP provided one. You do understand that.
Title: Re: HomeGenie Network Down???
Post by: Tuicemen on January 24, 2020, 09:25:36 AM
You may have suffered a power blip in the night that would have powered off your pi Unless you had it on a UPS.
Title: Re: HomeGenie Network Down???
Post by: petera on January 24, 2020, 09:27:32 AM
can some confirm HG network is down??

You do understand that HG on the Raspberry Pi is the server. The client in your case is the Windows 10 PC you use to access it. The client makes a call to the server via the web frontend, the web browser. Once you grasp that concept you realise your problem lies with the Raspberry Pi/HG if you can't access it. It helps to understand server basics when using a program like HG.
Title: Re: HomeGenie Network Down???
Post by: petera on January 24, 2020, 09:38:56 AM
You may have suffered a power blip in the night that would have powered off your pi Unless you had it on a UPS.

Once you apply power to a RPI it powers up. No switches here. The HG service daemon is set for restart=always so a power outage and reconnection wouldn't be a reason for RPI not starting and HG not launching. In some rare cases you may get file corruption that could prevent it starting.

It's understanding the basics of server technology that helps troubleshooting problems. The tools are there to be used to do this. Firstly, a simple Putty into the Pi to see if it's accessible. If so a sudo systemctl status homegenie.service to see if HG is running.

I think the lack of basic server knowledge in relation to how HG functions would be at the root of the users problem. I've given him two pointers as to what to check for but this information is all over the web for anyone to see.
Title: Re: HomeGenie Network Down???
Post by: Tuicemen on January 24, 2020, 10:15:00 AM
Actually I've had my Pi3b+ power down from a quick blip and not power back up. But that may be due to the lose USB port. In any case unplugging it and plugging it back it brought it back to life.
As you state a corrupt SD card is more likely with a power blip.
With so many Home Automation (smart) devices depending on web (cloud) servers it is easy to see how a novice could confuse the HG server and more so for the HA-Bridge server as it communicates with the Amazon server (if allowed)
Title: Re: HomeGenie Network Down???
Post by: edjal on January 24, 2020, 10:40:01 AM
 Ok I thank you for your suggestions. I did a visual of the Pi and the led is lit. when I went to bed all was OK.  I am not able to logon using putty for a status check. I am hesitant to unplug then re plug in at this point w/o first doing a sudo shutdown.  What do you recommend at this point? It looks like my only option is to unplug pi then repower.
Title: Re: HomeGenie Network Down???
Post by: Tuicemen on January 24, 2020, 10:45:02 AM
since you can't log in I'd check your network using a tool like advanced port scanner.
it will show if the pi is online and what IP it is using.
if you never set up IP reservations in your router a power blip in the night would have also shut it down and on rebooting reassigned IP addresses.
Title: Re: HomeGenie Network Down???
Post by: edjal on January 24, 2020, 10:56:26 AM
 Thank you tuicemen for your assistance. I used my xfinity menu wifi devices connected, to check if online and the raspberry Pi is not connected. Last connected over 7 hours ago.
Title: Re: HomeGenie Network Down???
Post by: Tuicemen on January 24, 2020, 11:04:20 AM
the next step you could possibly do is connect a HDMI if handy and see if the pi is displaying.
if it is you could disconnect the Cm15 and connect a keyboard to shut down.
I suspect your SD card may be damaged :( (hope not) I hope you've a back up just in case.
Title: Re: HomeGenie Network Down???
Post by: edjal on January 24, 2020, 11:05:24 AM
 Thank You petera I appreciate your advice.  I did check to see If web browsing was available to me prior to posting and It was so my ISP is OK. I am appreciative of explanation of LAN connection explanation it ggives me a clearer pic of HG
Title: Re: HomeGenie Network Down???
Post by: edjal on January 24, 2020, 11:18:40 AM
 I don't have a backup yet I had just installed your buster ver a few days ago and I was still configuring my scheduler and modules. Yesterday I was just monitoring my HG for its response to my scheduler. I had three events turn off one at 10:30pm Ext light, another at 11pm turn off famrm lamp and lastly one more at 11:05pm turn off furnace, all were successful. I went to bed as all seemed to be OK. for your info I used sd formatter to format the sd before download. 
Title: Re: HomeGenie Network Down???
Post by: edjal on January 24, 2020, 11:23:26 AM
 I will attempt the HDMI cable setup and get back to you.
Title: Re: HomeGenie Network Down???
Post by: edjal on January 24, 2020, 11:51:50 AM
here is a notebook debug that just showed up on my desktop. Could this be related to problem if so what does it mean?
Title: Re: HomeGenie Network Down???
Post by: Tuicemen on January 24, 2020, 12:05:10 PM
here is a notebook debug that just showed up on my desktop. Could this be related to problem if so what does it mean?
means the format of your SD card failed.
I occasionally will get that with a large SD card format this sometimes will affect an etcher image write and other times not.
since etcher wipes the SD card and rewrites a new image I've stopped formatting except for when the card is new.
Title: Re: HomeGenie Network Down???
Post by: edjal on January 24, 2020, 12:39:22 PM
 do you recommend removing sd and download img file to card again?
Title: Re: HomeGenie Network Down???
Post by: edjal on January 24, 2020, 01:01:31 PM
Do not have usb to hdmi adaptor was not able to see if image was available
Title: Re: HomeGenie Network Down???
Post by: edjal on January 24, 2020, 01:28:09 PM
tuicemen I was not sure what your reference to etcher was so I went back to the original hg setup instructions and I have been using win32 disc imager not etcher. Its my impression now I have to start over and reinstall RPi buster. If I use win32 disc imager do I need to format the used sd card?
Title: Re: HomeGenie Network Down???
Post by: Tuicemen on January 24, 2020, 02:47:24 PM
I've not used win32 disk imager since doing the tutorial I found etcher so much faster and easier to use.
So I'm unsure if a format is actually required.
with win 32 it is easier to mess things up if your not careful
Title: Re: HomeGenie Network Down???
Post by: petera on January 24, 2020, 05:04:29 PM
Guys there's a host of tools in Linux for repairing boot sector and partition errors. Download Gparted and it's all there in front of you. And free of course. No need to keep pressing the nuclear option every time. You don't have any messy Windows partitions to worry about in Raspbian. You could have that card back up and running in no time without having to reinstall.
Title: Re: HomeGenie Network Down???
Post by: Tuicemen on January 24, 2020, 05:26:05 PM
Guys there's a host of tools in Linux for repairing boot sector and partition errors. Download Gparted and it's all there in front of you. And free of course. No need to keep pressing the nuclear option every time. You don't have any messy Windows partitions to worry about in Raspbian. You could have that card back up and running in no time without having to reinstall.
true there are a ton of tools in Linux just like any OS however in this case edjal couldn't access the card and had no backup(again).
I don't know about anyone else but when my HA-Setup goes down I want it back up as quick as possible no messing around with tools That's why I have a back up SD card, my setup can be back up in seconds then I can play with tools if I want to kill time.
Issues edjal has posted about is the classic reason for having a back up of not just your HG but the whole SD card.
Title: Re: HomeGenie Network Down???
Post by: edjal on January 24, 2020, 05:47:02 PM
 I'm so sorry to burden you experts in this field, as I'm sure you figured out I am not efficient or expert. I only know one language English. I can't express enough how much I do appreciated all help and suggestions here. I have downloaded x10 raspian buster to pc again downloaded to image disc file to SD using etcher, setup localization SSID expanded file system and  it is going through its update now. Are you guys suggesting I backup to another sd before I configure the modules I use and before I set up my scheduler?
Title: Re: HomeGenie Network Down???
Post by: petera on January 24, 2020, 05:51:07 PM
Guys there's a host of tools in Linux for repairing boot sector and partition errors. Download Gparted and it's all there in front of you. And free of course. No need to keep pressing the nuclear option every time. You don't have any messy Windows partitions to worry about in Raspbian. You could have that card back up and running in no time without having to reinstall.
true there are a ton of tools in Linux just like any OS however in this case edjal couldn't access the card and had no backup(again).
I don't know about anyone else but when my HA-Setup goes down I want it back up as quick as possible no messing around with tools That's why I have a back up SD card, my setup can be back up in seconds then I can play with tools if I want to kill time.
Issues edjal has posted about is the classic reason for having a back up of not just your HG but the whole SD card.

It's been all said time and time again. Just falls on deaf ears. The tools are there for a reason. They educate the user about the OS they are using. Nobody here has any interest in learning about Linux hence the repetitive posts like "my system has gone down, what do I do next". I think the subject matter in the OP says it all really.

A million ways to install HG buy not one idea how to use it. Nothing negative here. Just the facts. That's why people who could help here have lost interest.
Title: Re: HomeGenie Network Down???
Post by: Tuicemen on January 24, 2020, 05:55:55 PM
Are you guys suggesting I backup to another sd before I configure the modules I use and before I set up my scheduler?
yes! then again once you have everything the way you wish, it will save you hours of time redoing your setup. ;)
Title: Re: HomeGenie Network Down???
Post by: edjal on January 24, 2020, 06:30:55 PM
 Thank You for your recommendation  petera I will investigate  tools on Gparted you suggested. hopefully I can figure out how to use it in the future.
Title: Re: HomeGenie Network Down???
Post by: Tuicemen on January 24, 2020, 07:08:22 PM
Nobody here has any interest in learning about Linux hence the repetitive posts like "my system has gone down, what do I do next". I think the subject matter in the OP says it all really.
No one here wants to learn any OS it isn't just related to Linux.
Asking questions is the best and fastest way to learn.
We can't dictate how anyone learns or how fast. You pointed edjal to a fishing pole (Gparted) but not mentioned how to use it. Even with all the documentation some of the Linux jargon is confusing to a Linux newbie. Heck it is even confusing to me but I'm no expert.
Title: Re: HomeGenie Network Down???
Post by: petera on January 24, 2020, 07:46:29 PM
Nobody here has any interest in learning about Linux hence the repetitive posts like "my system has gone down, what do I do next". I think the subject matter in the OP says it all really.
No one here wants to learn any OS it isn't just related to Linux.
Asking questions is the best and fastest way to learn.
We can't dictate how anyone learns or how fast. You pointed edjal to a fishing pole (Gparted) but not mentioned how to use it. Even with all the documentation some of the Linux jargon is confusing to a Linux newbie. Heck it is even confusing to me but I'm no expert.

My whole point is and was before. Itís all been done. Itís out in the wild for anyone to do a Google. I point in the right direction and the user goes looking. Iím damned if Iím going to do all the work or rehash something that can be easily found with a keyword search, in this case Gparted. Iíve neither the time nor the inclination for all that.