Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: TR16 Tone Controller Not Working Properly  (Read 4093 times)

vertexm

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
TR16 Tone Controller Not Working Properly
« on: October 23, 2006, 11:52:12 PM »

About 20 years ago I set up a TR16 controller in my parents weekend home so that the electric heat can be turned on remotely, so the house will be warm when they arrive in the winter. I used an appliance module with another relay to switch the thermostats. The first TR16 I had put in stopped working a few years ago. I replaced it, and it to has worked fine until now. Now, when the phone rings, the appliance module switches on and off with each ring. I thought the TR16 went bad again. I replaced it, but the new one behaves the same. I checked these units at my house, and they seem fine. I could not find anything wrong with the phone line, the off hook voltage seems ok, as does the ringer voltage. Anone have an idea as to what is going on? Once the TR16 answers, it does work normally.

Stumped in NY
Logged

tjdavj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 103
Re: TR16 Tone Controller Not Working Properly
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2006, 12:47:27 AM »

By any chance is it a cordless phone?

If it is then the TR16 or the appliance module may picking up the RF from the phone..

Hope this helps..
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 301
  • Posts: 13105
Re: TR16 Tone Controller Not Working Properly
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2006, 07:04:08 AM »

Is the problem modules address the House Code and the Third Digit of the Security Code?
Example. House Code B Security 1; 5 and 8. The TR16A will cycle on and off address B8. Explained in the users guide as a feature; that could flash a light or lights as the phone rings
I have mine cycle a chime module on the house code and third digit of the security code.
So any module on the House Code and third digit of the security code will cycle on off as the phone rings.
Logged

vertexm

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: TR16 Tone Controller Not Working Properly
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2006, 10:28:33 PM »

Brian:
You hit the nail on the Head! I just read through the owner's manual, and it doesn't mention this "feature".

Thanks.
Logged

TakeTheActive

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 126
  • Posts: 1047
  • Old !@#$% Tinkerer!
Re: TR16 Tone Controller Not Working Properly
« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2006, 11:10:50 PM »

...I just read through the owner's manual, and it doesn't mention this "feature".

Logged
Low Post Count != Low Knowledge - High Post Count != High Knowledge ;)

ADVICE TO X-10 NEWBIES FROM AN X-10 OLD-TIMER

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: TR16 Tone Controller Not Working Properly
« Reply #5 on: October 25, 2006, 12:17:39 AM »

Yup!  That feature is described on page 4 of the manual under INSTALLATION:

7. Set each Module to a Unit Code between
1 and 8. Any Module(s) set to the same
number as the third digit on the security
code dial (on right) flashes on and off
when the phone rings.


See what happens when you skim-read?    ;)

Good catch TTA and Brian H!   ;D
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.