Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: My new AHP won't work, so back to IBM's Home Director for now  (Read 53095 times)

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: My new AHP won't work, so back to IBM's Home Director for now
« Reply #15 on: October 26, 2007, 07:00:54 PM »

It depends on the CFL manufacturer if they blink when the module turns it off.  I've had CFLs that work fine with an appliance module and ones from Home Depot and GE that do blink when off.   It's really hit or miss.  If you find a brand that doesn't blink when off, buy more.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

Puck

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 171
  • Posts: 1799
Re: My new AHP won't work, so back to IBM's Home Director for now
« Reply #16 on: October 26, 2007, 10:28:45 PM »

It depends on the CFL manufacturer if they blink when the module turns it off.  I've had CFLs that work fine with an appliance module and ones from Home Depot and GE that do blink when off.   It's really hit or miss.  If you find a brand that doesn't blink when off, buy more.

As Dan stated, this can happen when plugging a CFL lamp into an Appliance Module because of it's local control sense circuit. With a wall relay type switch that requires a neutral connection, this will not happen.
Logged

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: My new AHP won't work, so back to IBM's Home Director for now
« Reply #17 on: October 26, 2007, 10:32:18 PM »

Supposedly Socket Rockets work okay too... I'm about to try that myself... I've got nearly all CFL's now.
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 301
  • Posts: 13104
Re: My new AHP won't work, so back to IBM's Home Director for now
« Reply #18 on: October 27, 2007, 06:23:34 AM »

I have some MaxLite SpiralMax CFLs that generate all kinds of X10 noise when in a Socket Rocket, but in the socket alone no noise or shifted out of the X10 band. 4 Bars on my Elk ESM-1. Other brands are fine.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.