Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Home Theater lighting  (Read 4909 times)

griff32

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Home Theater lighting
« on: January 08, 2008, 10:29:58 AM »

First of all thanks to everyone for taking the time to read this post and giving me any help as I am a newbie at this.

I am currently in the middle of building a dedicated home theater, and it occurred to me that having automated lighting would be a nice touch. I would like to control the lights using my Harmony remote (I read that someone else here does the same thing). Here is my set up.

1 switch controls 4 65W sconce lights, 1 switch controls 4 65W overhead can lights, 1 switch controls 2 overhead small can lights (I can remember the wattage), and one switch controls about 15ft of led rope lighting. The lights are all on their own circuit separate from the A/V equipment, and I am hoping that I should get little or no noise issues.

I would like to have different "scenes" for different applications. I now I will need an IR543 to be able to use my remote for this, and also a friend has given me 2 WS477 switches, but I really don't know if this would be a correct application for me. I am looking for advice on necessary hardware, and how to methods.

Thanks
Griff

HA Dave

• Helpful Post Rating: 175
Re: Home Theater lighting
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2008, 05:54:49 PM »

I am currently in the middle of building a dedicated home theater,.......... (I read that someone else here does the same thing).

I am sure lots of people have done similar set-ups. My Home Theater setup is very similar. I recently replied HERE to almost the same question.

From your post... it sounds like you have already done your homework. If you haven't signed up for the X10 newsletter yet, you should do so. Look for X10 deals, and visit and read the forums.

X10 can certainly.. and easily add a very nice finishing touch to a HT.