Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: How to secure x10?  (Read 3931 times)

coder1

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
How to secure x10?
« on: February 24, 2008, 01:42:25 PM »

I'm new to x10 technology and am very enthused about it.  I wanted to setup my garage door with the universal module, but then I thought that anyone with an RF x10 remote would be able to open it.

I know garage door openers could be triggered the traditional way too, but it made me start to think.  If I'm using x10 for home security, what would prevent someone from plugging into the outside of my house or triggering commands through RF?

Are there methods to secure your house from this at all?

trol1374

• Helpful Post Rating: 1
Re: How to secure x10?
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2008, 03:18:03 PM »

I see what your saying, but unless it is someone that knows you, how would the burglar even know that you have that kind of equipment?  They are more likely to go around with a garage door opener to see who's door they can open, then to carry an rf one and try yours.  Certainly doubt at anytime a random burglar is going to carry equipment to "tap" into your system.  Then to try all the house codes/unit code combos to get that certain one that control yours.  Unless you have it on A1.
  Your chance of being struck by lighting "twice" is better then the above occurring.
« Last Edit: February 24, 2008, 03:20:42 PM by trol1374 »

HA Dave

• Helpful Post Rating: 175
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2008, 03:40:04 PM »

I'm new to x10 technology and am very enthused about it.  I wanted to setup my garage door with the universal module, but then I thought that anyone with an RF x10 remote would be able to open it. I know garage door openers could be triggered the traditional way too, but it made me start to think.