Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: AHP (ver. 3.228) w/ Plug-ins - How & Why?? Help Needed..  (Read 22658 times)

autopilot

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
AHP (ver. 3.228) w/ Plug-ins - How & Why?? Help Needed..
« on: June 04, 2008, 05:38:06 PM »

Dear AHP Smart Macro experts and users,

I'm a newbie to X10 and home automation and have been tinking with my recently purchased new starter AHP suite (includes Smart Macro, OnAlert, MyHouse, iWatchOut for future expansion) with some modules after being lured by X10's tempting deals ;-) I thought it was easy to set-up and configure since I have some computer background but boy was I wrong..  :o The more I read about X10 and these forums, the more I realize that there are lots of operational issues/problems that need to be resolved beyond what X10 ads claim and what even more experienced users encountered. Some even resort to experimental trial-and-error methods/tricks "beyond" what established X10 standard operating procedures and announced capabilities say. I'm at a dilemma now whether it was worth pursuing the X10 route or my HA project itself with the end of convenience and time-saving at my abode to relieve some pressures of a hectic life outside the confines of my dwelling. No, I'm not trying to write a novel here but just wanted to vent out some of my initial experiences and expectations about this promising (but confusing to some) technology. Now back to some questions and observations I got stemming from my tinkering so far: