Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Which X10 module would you suggest to hook this up?  (Read 12258 times)

BVD

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 105
Re: Which X10 module would you suggest to hook this up?
« Reply #15 on: January 21, 2009, 03:31:55 PM »

Dave,
Most everything you said is true and from your message I can tell that you are not technically challenged. However the LM15A modules that I am using are not fully gated on. They come up slow the same way the lamp modules operate. This would indicate to me that they are soft gated and that is why I would not use it in this application. This could have a harmful effect on the electronic siren. BTW You are correct that the switching takes place at 0 crossing or at least that is what X10 manuals say.

Respectfully,
Bob
Logged

Alan V

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 8
  • Posts: 171
Re: Which X10 module would you suggest to hook this up?
« Reply #16 on: January 21, 2009, 05:05:30 PM »

Dave,
Most everything you said is true and from your message I can tell that you are not technically challenged. However the LM15A modules that I am using are not fully gated on. They come up slow the same way the lamp modules operate. This would indicate to me that they are soft gated and that is why I would not use it in this application. This could have a harmful effect on the electronic siren. BTW You are correct that the switching takes place at 0 crossing or at least that is what X10 manuals say.

Respectfully,
Bob

The LM15A does not have dim/ bright capability.  Are you talking about the now discontinued LM14A modules?
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
  • Posts: 13269
Re: Which X10 module would you suggest to hook this up?
« Reply #17 on: January 21, 2009, 06:34:30 PM »

LM15A is the Socket Rocket. Is that what you have?
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 139
  • Posts: 6116
Re: Which X10 module would you suggest to hook this up?
« Reply #18 on: January 21, 2009, 08:39:27 PM »

However the LM15A modules that I am using are not fully gated on. They come up slow the same way the lamp modules operate. This would indicate to me that they are soft gated and that is why I would not use it in this application.

Bob,
None of my Socket Rockets ramp, they are instant on. This must be a fairly recent design change (6-8 months?).

Yes I agree with you. A "soft turn on" would NOT be advisable for anything other than incandescent. What a bummer, I have several SRs that I use as a silent switch for inductive loads and was just ready to order a couple more from the X10 porn site, but won't now, since the SRs now ramp or have soft turn on.

There are a couple of plans out there to convert a lamp modules to a silent appliance modules using SSRs. I know Brian H has converted a couple lamp modules to silent appliance modules...guess I will have to do the same now. Anywho (a midwest transitional term) thanks for the information!

Dave W
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
  • Posts: 13269
Re: Which X10 module would you suggest to hook this up?
« Reply #19 on: January 22, 2009, 06:51:51 AM »

The new soft start LM465s may not work well with the SSR mod. I never tried one but have a few unused ones from Package Deals to try ;D Still have a few of the Sharp SSRs also.
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 139
  • Posts: 6116
Re: Which X10 module would you suggest to hook this up?
« Reply #20 on: January 22, 2009, 12:22:48 PM »

Yeah, I have a ton of old Lamp Modules, so have plenty of "non-rampers" to mod. Modding to SSR, since the original triac gate signal is changed to a DC level, I wonder how much effect the "soft start" would have? A delay in turn?
FYI
All Electronics has Magnecraft SSRs cheap. 1 amp = $3, and 3 amp =$6. I just have to dig up the mod for the magecraft SSRs.
http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a-store/item/SRLY-20/3-AMP-SOLID-STATE-RELAY/-/1.html

Thanks Brian
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
  • Posts: 13269
Re: Which X10 module would you suggest to hook this up?
« Reply #21 on: January 22, 2009, 04:36:17 PM »

My Sharp ones basically go on and if you dim. Go off at some point.
My best guess would be maybe a slight delay as it ramped up and down to go on and off.
I believe the mod that was shown left the Local sensing resistors in the circuit. I also removed them as the point of this mod was no current on the output when off.
« Last Edit: January 22, 2009, 04:38:02 PM by Brian H »
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.