Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Homebase  (Read 15055 times)

jadams77

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Homebase
« on: September 26, 2009, 10:59:46 AM »

I have been using a X10 Homebase for the past 15 years.  I'm sure it's an 80's vintage.  I run it on an old DOS computer and has been rock solid until now.  All of a sudden I started getting the following message:  Communication Errors, check connections and/or serial port setup.  I have checked everything that I know of.

The com 1 port is working - verified with another piece of hardware.
The cables have all been tested for continuity.
The battery in the homebase is ok.
I have moved to another computer with the same results.

If anyone is familiar with Homebase and can give me some suggestions, I'd really appreciate it.  I probably should update, but my program would take hours to rewrite.

Thanks,

JAdams 

Dan Lawrence

• Helpful Post Rating: 68
Re: Homebase
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2009, 12:01:47 PM »

X10 Homebase?  A Google Search reveals nothing. What's that?   I started with X10 in the middle 80's with a CP290 and DOS software.
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

jadams77

« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2009, 12:09:42 PM »

I believe it's the predessor to the JDS Stargate.  Is it possible to attach a picture to this post?  I can send a photo.  It uses basic like Event Manager if-then-else logic.  Looking at the owners manual it is from Home Control Concepts.  The manual was printed in 1992.

Dan Lawrence

« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2009, 03:02:08 PM »

What kind of modules does it control?  X10, or something else?  If not X10 technology,  you are stuck.  It's like suddenly jumping 20 years.

jadams77

« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2009, 08:36:11 AM »