Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Hello, I am new to the sight and have a few questions.  (Read 12267 times)

RedBeard

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 16
Hello, I am new to the sight and have a few questions.
« on: November 19, 2009, 08:37:14 AM »

Hello,  I am looking to get a X10 home securtiy system.  I have loads of questions but one main one is, Do they have a motion detector that can be used outside?  Thanks for any help. 

RedBeard
Logged

Puck

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 171
  • Posts: 1799
Re: Hello, I am new to the sight and have a few questions.
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2009, 10:29:14 AM »

Welcome to the forum RedBeard.

I don't think the X10 DS7000 security motion sensors (MS10A) are designed to be weather proof. Would you really want an outside motion detector to set off an internal alarm? There would sure to be many false triggers.

X10 does make automation motion sensors that are designed to be weather proof which can complement a security system by controlling outdoor lighting. These motion sensors can work through the DS7000 system but will not trigger the alarm.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 282
  • Posts: 10501
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
Re: Hello, I am new to the sight and have a few questions.
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2009, 11:21:23 AM »

As stated by Puck connecting a out side motion sensor to your alarm system is a bad idea!
I don't even like them for inside as you still get false alarms.
They are fine for triggering lights & cameras to come on or off which is probably just as much of a deterrent!
Now I do use security motion sensors out side well placed under a porch out of the elements but not to trigger my security system. So if you still wish to use them it is possible if protected! ;)
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

RedBeard

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 16
Re: Hello, I am new to the sight and have a few questions.
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2009, 11:29:59 AM »

Thanks for the replies.  I guess I am thinking of a drive way chime.  You are correct I wouldn't want my alarm going off when the mail comes.  I just wasn't sure if X10 had something that worked with the alarm system that would chime when someone entered my drive way.  Can you set the system so it chimes if you front door is opened and the alarm is not engaged?  Once again thanks for the replies.
Logged

RedBeard

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 16
Re: Hello, I am new to the sight and have a few questions.
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2009, 11:33:22 AM »

The other thing is,  I keep reading these threads that have people not able to use the "autodial" if they have Vonage.  I chatted with the company website and they said that it would work.  I am sure you guys have had to answer this one more than once sorry if it is a repeat.
Logged

Puck

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 171
  • Posts: 1799
Re: Hello, I am new to the sight and have a few questions.
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2009, 11:03:49 PM »

Can you set the system so it chimes if you front door is opened and the alarm is not engaged? 

Yes. The PS561 has a switch with 2 run modes; when not armed, one mode chimes when a sensor is triggered and the other mode is silent.
Logged

davideinmd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 82
Re: Hello, I am new to the sight and have a few questions.
« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2009, 05:15:09 AM »

The other thing is,  I keep reading these threads that have people not able to use the "autodial" if they have Vonage.  I chatted with the company website and they said that it would work.  I am sure you guys have had to answer this one more than once sorry if it is a repeat.

Try this link about having Vonage change the packetization.
http://kbase.x10.com/wiki/Voice_Dialers_And_VOIP
Logged

RedBeard

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 16
Re: Hello, I am new to the sight and have a few questions.
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2009, 08:01:47 AM »

Does the console plug into the wall socket, or does it have to be wired?  Thanks
Logged

Puck

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 171
  • Posts: 1799
Re: Hello, I am new to the sight and have a few questions.
« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2009, 08:20:30 AM »

Does the console plug into the wall socket, or does it have to be wired?  Thanks

Plug-in. The sensors are wireless and the console can control lights and sirens through the house's electrical wiring.
Logged

RedBeard

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 16
Re: Hello, I am new to the sight and have a few questions.
« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2009, 10:46:20 AM »

How many sensors can one console support?  I have 27 windows and three doors.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
  • Posts: 13263
Re: Hello, I am new to the sight and have a few questions.
« Reply #10 on: November 20, 2009, 12:39:52 PM »

Sixteen devices. Though windows or doors close to each other. Can be wired with an extra magnetic switch. So both use one Door/Window sensor.
Logged

spam4us

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 152
Re: Hello, I am new to the sight and have a few questions.
« Reply #11 on: November 21, 2009, 12:00:11 AM »


Quote
How many sensors can one console support?  I have 27 windows and three doors.

You can also have multiple consoles (up to 16) that are linked together via ds10A's.  This will allow you to have up to 240 sensors, although I would recommend that many.
Here's a link to the thread.  Look at the last post for the diagram.

http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=13487.msg76680;topicseen#msg76680

Logged

stoney

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 42
Re: Hello, I am new to the sight and have a few questions.
« Reply #12 on: December 11, 2009, 07:46:49 PM »

This is just MHO. You mileage (or thoughts) might vary....

I personally think all those door and window sensors can be exchanged for one, well placed, motion detector.

My great room has 4 windows and a sliding door. I have tested ALL of them and the motion detector picks my
movement every time and sounds the alarm.

Initially I did the counting the windows and doors thing but I've found that the motion sensors that I have are
really as close to impossible to trick or defeat as I've seen.

Now see if you can find another good use for all of those door and window sensors.

 :'
Logged

RedBeard

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 16
Re: Hello, I am new to the sight and have a few questions.
« Reply #13 on: December 13, 2009, 07:22:21 AM »

I have cats.  I am not sure how the motion detectors and my cats are going to get along.  I am not going to have to put them on all my windows.  Some of them are high enough and exposed enough I shouldn't have to worry about them.
Logged

stoney

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 42
Re: Hello, I am new to the sight and have a few questions.
« Reply #14 on: December 13, 2009, 08:30:00 AM »

The manual recommends placement about 6' or so above the floor...perhaps on top of a bookcase or entertainment unit.
Some people don't like to drill holes, drive nails or other fasteners into their walls.

We no longer have pets as we have kids, grandkids and THEIR pets who visit! Basically, you're going to have to conduct
a few tests with your various motion sensors to see how they react to those furry felines!

I have seen several motion sensors that claim to be "pet aware" in that they are not set off by dogs / cats.

Good luck and keep up posted on what works / doesn't work for you!
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.