Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Transceiver Module TM751 And CFL  (Read 4849 times)

X10R

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Transceiver Module TM751 And CFL
« on: December 27, 2009, 02:02:43 PM »

Can I use the Transceiver Module TM751 with CFL bulbs? What issues/problems would I have?
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: Transceiver Module TM751 And CFL
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2009, 04:02:11 PM »

A transceiver (TM751 or RR501) is not for lights.  It receives RF transmissions and converts it to X10 signals that control light and appliance modules.   
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 297
  • Posts: 12966
Re: Transceiver Module TM751 And CFL
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2009, 04:23:16 PM »

The switched outlet on the TM751 and RR501 should be OK with a CFL. Both use the same switch in them as a Appliance Module.

Both do not have Local Control Sensing so they should not turn back on when turned off.

I did a test with two TM751s an older model {Date Code 00D17} and a new model {Date Code 08D14}. Along with a fairly old RR501 {Date Code 02F23}. A new GE FLE13HT3/2/RVL Reveal CFL and a new Feit BPESL13T/D CFL.

Now a few quirks that could be a factor.

The TM751 has no power line receiver in it so it can only be turned on and off with a remote.

Older TM751s had a differently designed circuit in it to determine if it is on or off. I found some brands of CFL may pulse when off. The GE did not while the Feit did.
Newer TM751s and my RR501 do not pulse either bulb I was testing with.

So will a CFL work with a TM751. Yes with a few things to watch. Depending on the age. A TM751 may pulse some CFLs and you may have to try a few brands to find one that works.
Remember you can only control a TM751 with an RF remote. As it will not process power line signals from power line controllers like a Maxi Controller. AHP with the CM15A Interface can send an RF signal to a TM751 to control it.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2009, 10:56:32 AM by Brian H »
Logged

X10R

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: Transceiver Module TM751 And CFL
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2009, 05:32:10 PM »

Thanks for the info. Looks like this will work for me.
Logged

X10R

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: Transceiver Module TM751 And CFL
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2010, 04:01:51 PM »



Older TM751s had a differently designed circuit in it to determine if it is on or off. I found some brands of CFL may pulse when off. The GE did not while the Feit did.
Newer TM751s and my RR501 do not pulse either bulb I was testing with.

So will a CFL work with a TM751. Yes with a few things to watch. Depending on the age. A TM751 may pulse some CFLs and you may have to try a few brands to find one that works.

I have 2 lamps that each have 3 lamp sockets. I am using an older (more than 4 years) x10 brand TM751 and a  Radio Shack brand x10 appliance module. The bulbs were pulsing so I put CFL bulbs in two sockets and a  60 watt incandescent bulb in the third socket. The pulsing quit.
 My question is will this shorten the life of the modules or CFLs, overheat them, or risk of fire?
« Last Edit: January 02, 2010, 04:06:36 PM by X10R »
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 297
  • Posts: 12966
Re: Transceiver Module TM751 And CFL
« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2010, 04:11:02 PM »

The TM751 does not dim as it has a mechanical switch in it.
The use of the one 60 watt bulb stopped the pulsing and the sensing current is safely handled.
The CFLs should be fine. They should last as long as they would on a standard mechanical switch.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.