Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: can i use the xpd3 to control an outlet?  (Read 3192 times)

george536

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 47
can i use the xpd3 to control an outlet?
« on: November 14, 2010, 01:22:04 AM »

i currently have an outlet thats controlled by a simple paddle switch that i use to turn on simple incandescent lamp for my room.

I was going to use a lamp module for it, but i want to just keep the stock location and put a xpd3 and leave the lamp just connected to the outlet.

want to make sure the xpd3 is the one i need before i pull the trigger? and if that works for it, will it now make that lamp dim-able?
Logged

Mellowmark

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 6
  • Posts: 195
  • M M Electric
Re: can i use the xpd3 to control an outlet?
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2010, 07:33:16 AM »

It is not a good idea to put a dimmer on a receptacle, it will also not pass any inspection legally. It would be better if you used a lamp module. then maybe you could put an xpt in the switch location and wire the receptacle hot all the time. The xpt would give you so many more options and still accomplish your original task.
Logged
M M ElectricMan

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
  • Posts: 13260
Re: can i use the xpd3 to control an outlet?
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2010, 09:11:15 AM »

If you don't need dimming. The XPS3 should work. It does need a neutral wire in the switch box.
I would also say any dimmer switch controlling an outlet is asking for trouble an agree it is most likely illegal.
Logged

JeffVolp

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 122
  • Posts: 2286
    • XTB Home Page
Re: can i use the xpd3 to control an outlet?
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2010, 09:31:59 AM »

I would also say any dimmer switch controlling an outlet is asking for trouble an agree it is most likely illegal.

Using a dimmer to control a receptacle is specifically forbidden in the National Electrical Code.  I quoted that paragraph here on the forum some time ago.

Jeff
Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days

george536

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 47
Re: can i use the xpd3 to control an outlet?
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2010, 01:49:03 PM »

Ok good thing i asked, i did order some xps3s and now i think i will be using one for that purpose also

Thanks
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.