Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Live video window Locks all, unless process priority is set lower than realtime.  (Read 4413 times)

Kermdogg

• Helpful Post Rating: 0

Hello All, Newbie here!

I am running AHP 3.305, iwatchout 3.305, onalert 3.305, myhouse 3.305, smartmacro 3.305, with a VA12A usb capture device.  I have other X10 hardware and will report if needed.

On XP SP3, Dell Dimensions DV051, intel Pentium 4, 2.8 GHz, 1GB ram, machine.

System ran with no complaints for about 1 year, about 7 days ago I upgraded my software (first time) from an unknown previous version.  When the View live video window opens the PC freezes and video continues to stream to the video window in real time, but scanning stops.  If the window is bound, or unbound and  and AHP window is less than 50% of the screen everything functions but cpu usage nears 90%.  CPU usage by AHP is dependent on the size of the bound or unbound video window.  If another window or dialog box has focus cpu usage drops. 

If the video window is not opened, a pc freeze does not occur while scanning, recording video at 4 FPS max quality, and capturing automatic stills at 5 sec intervals max quality, the cpu usage remains below 50%.  Because of this I do not suspect the VA12A.  I have moved the VA12A to all of the USB2 ports during the trials.

I have cleared the AHP software per the wiki (http://kbase.x10.com/wiki/ActiveHome_Pro_Re-installation) .  have tried to install the iWatchout and other plugins before AHP ... but always the AHP software is installed regardless of the plugin that I start with.  The Other odd thing is that my AHX file starts in AHP after a clear and the first plugin is installed even though I don't save out a copy (I'm willing to start over) .

Today I installed the new VA12A driver per the kbase (http://kbase.x10.com/wiki/VA11A_Plus_Driver_Load_Procedure) and the driver shows in device manager correctly.