Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Screaming Door Chime (SC546A)  (Read 7197 times)

LanceC

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 14
Screaming Door Chime (SC546A)
« on: March 07, 2011, 04:08:58 PM »

Greetings,

I recently installed an SC546A door chime module on house/unit code A16.

I also have various other wall switches and lamp modules on house code A.

I wrote a "Wake Up" macro that turns various lights on house code A on at 5:30 AM.  When the macro rans it _also_ put the door chime into warbling alarm mode that wouldn't quit until I unplugged it.

WOW!  What a Wake Up Call it was.  This repeated any time the Wake Up macro ran.  It was resolved by moving the chime and it's motion detector to a different house code.

But my question is; how can I duplicate it?  What do I need to send to the SC546A to trigger the alarm, and then, what turns it off?

Thanks.
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 138
  • Posts: 6112
Re: Screaming Door Chime (SC546A)
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2011, 06:18:11 PM »

The warble alarm mode is triggered when two or three successive SC546 house code unit code address "ON" signals are received. It stopps screaming with three successive HCUC "OFF" signals. Not sure but think I three successive "All Lights On" on same house codes as the chime will also trigger the warble.
« Last Edit: March 07, 2011, 06:40:34 PM by dave w »
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

LanceC

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 14
Re: Screaming Door Chime (SC546A)
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2011, 06:55:20 PM »

Hmmm, I can't seem to get it to work.

Running a macro written using Advanced Functions thusly:

Code: [Select]
Address Command C 16
Function Command C On
Function Command C On
Function Command C On

Resulted in the normal chime being played one time.

I also tried just sending 3 "C 16 On" commands and that didn;t work either.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 298
  • Posts: 13011
Re: Screaming Door Chime (SC546A)
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2011, 07:54:23 PM »

What revision AHP are you using?

If it was before the Soft Start modules where added. Are any of your modules defined as LM14A's?
I vaguely remember posts on poling two way devices sometimes triggering the SC546A into a screaming banshee.

Logged

LanceC

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 14
Re: Screaming Door Chime (SC546A)
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2011, 08:16:14 PM »

I have AHP 3.305 and all my modules are new, soft start modules defined as LM14As.

The macros I wrote to try and trigger the (lol) banshee were done using the advanced functions in the Smart Macros plug-in so I was sure to send "On" instead of "Bright 100".
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 138
  • Posts: 6112
Re: Screaming Door Chime (SC546A)
« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2011, 08:18:28 PM »

I also tried just sending 3 "C 16 On" commands and that didn;t work either.

May be my mistake.
Try C16 ON, C16 OFF two times followed by a C16 ON. Although mine do not require the OFF command. I just tried it and my SC567 took off like a parakeet on crack after the second "ON", (no OFFs) but my SC564 are at least six years old.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

LanceC

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 14
Re: Screaming Door Chime (SC546A)
« Reply #6 on: March 07, 2011, 08:35:20 PM »

Okay, so I've tried:

Code: [Select]
0 3/7/2011 7:21:46 PM Transmit C16 (Front Door)
1 3/7/2011 7:21:46 PM Transmit C On (Front Door)
2 3/7/2011 7:21:47 PM Transmit C Off (Front Door)
3 3/7/2011 7:21:47 PM Transmit C On (Front Door)
4 3/7/2011 7:21:47 PM Transmit C Off (Front Door)
5 3/7/2011 7:21:48 PM Transmit C On (Front Door)

and:

Code: [Select]
6 3/7/2011 7:27:54 PM Transmit C16 (Front Door)
7 3/7/2011 7:27:54 PM Transmit C On (Front Door)
8 3/7/2011 7:27:55 PM Transmit C16 (Front Door)
9 3/7/2011 7:27:55 PM Transmit C Off (Front Door)
10 3/7/2011 7:27:56 PM Transmit C16 (Front Door)
11 3/7/2011 7:27:56 PM Transmit C On (Front Door)
12 3/7/2011 7:27:56 PM Transmit C16 (Front Door)
13 3/7/2011 7:27:57 PM Transmit C Off (Front Door)
14 3/7/2011 7:27:57 PM Transmit C16 (Front Door)
15 3/7/2011 7:27:58 PM Transmit C On (Front Door)


Still no joy.

The first macro gave me one lovely chime while the second one gave me two chimes and two barking dogs.

My chime module is just a few weeks old.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 298
  • Posts: 13011
Re: Screaming Door Chime (SC546A)
« Reply #7 on: March 07, 2011, 08:39:19 PM »

I have a retail RSC15A Date Code 02E19 and I also can not make it screech. No matter what I send it.
That said. I know some here have it happen.

Now I can make my SH10As scream while others can't.
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 138
  • Posts: 6112
Re: Screaming Door Chime (SC546A)
« Reply #8 on: March 07, 2011, 09:24:34 PM »

LanceC

This made me nuts so I crawled under porch to retieve one of my "SC564". My applogies for the bad information because what I thought was a "SC564" is actually a SH10A. So i have been spewing mouth flatuence. However I do remember reading about either making a SH10A chime, OR making a SC546A warble. I will dig tonight and see if I can find the information.

sorry

I'll go back to sleep now.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

LanceC

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 14
Re: Screaming Door Chime (SC546A)
« Reply #9 on: March 07, 2011, 09:46:17 PM »

I really appreciate it dave w.

I know it can do it because it did it when I didn't want it to.  But now that I want it to, it won't.

It's like a child.
Logged

mike

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 14
  • Posts: 1058
Re: Screaming Door Chime (SC546A) - "STUCK PIG in the house!" 3.318 problem?
« Reply #10 on: October 20, 2011, 07:37:57 AM »

OK, I confirmed and can repeat making my SC546 sound like a stuck pig screaming!  What an awful sound!!!!!!!!!!!

First, Dave W got it right:  3 on commands in a row produce this continuous non stop warble until the unit is unplugged and plugged back in.  On an adjacent UC!

Here is how to reproduce it:  send 3 on commands at same time - BY TURNING ON REPEAT function on timer in advanced timer view.  I thought maybe it required a dimmed command but found it also did it on 100% command.

In my case chimer works fine ON ITS HC/UC of H1;  but screams when triple H2 command sent!  single H2 sent does not make the SC546 chime or scream; single command H1 does as it should.  I have tried this with 2 different SC546s so it is not defective chime.

either of these cause H1 chime to squeel:

3055   10/20/2011 7:06:08 AM   Macro   H2 Extended Code Bright/Dim 32(Paper Lantern)
3056   10/20/2011 7:06:09 AM   Macro   H2 Extended Code Bright/Dim 32(Paper Lantern)
3057   10/20/2011 7:06:10 AM   Macro   H2 Extended Code Bright/Dim 32(Paper Lantern)
3058   10/20/2011 7:14:05 AM   Macro   H2 Extended Code Bright/Dim 100(Paper Lantern)
3059   10/20/2011 7:14:06 AM   Macro   H2 Extended Code Bright/Dim 100(Paper Lantern)
3060   10/20/2011 7:14:07 AM   Macro   H2 Extended Code Bright/Dim 100(Paper Lantern)
3061   10/20/2011 7:14:42 AM   Transmit   H2 Extended Code Bright/Dim 39(Paper Lantern)

this does not:

3020   10/20/2011 6:48:22 AM   Macro   H2 Extended Code Bright/Dim 32(Paper Lantern)

BTW, the H2 light works flawlessly during all this.

Now I will try a triple H1 (chime) and see if THAT does it too:  sorry, no can test - timer wont trigger and send 3 H1 commands at the same time.  not sure why so giving up on it.  guess i could try just changing H2 lite to code H1 and send it that way but out of time now....

my fix is to unclick advanced timer view REPEAT command on my H2 lite timers.  better to have the non essential lite not come on at 6am than get rocked out of bed with the stuck pig squeel before the alarm clock!

« Last Edit: October 20, 2011, 07:55:07 AM by mike »
Logged

dadams14

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: Screaming Door Chime (SC546A)
« Reply #11 on: November 05, 2011, 07:36:39 AM »

I have had this for months, but I never knew what caused it.  I am running  AHP 3.310
and cannot get any channel but 3 to work reliably.   I never had this with active home and my serial interface.
Wish someone could advise what to do
Logged

mike

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 14
  • Posts: 1058
Re: Screaming Door Chime (SC546A)
« Reply #12 on: November 05, 2011, 07:46:08 AM »

....and cannot get any channel but 3 to work reliably. ....
Wish someone could advise what to do


Bet someone can!  what does "cannot get channel 3...." mean?

give lots of details like UC, HC, how u turn it on, off, etc etc, etc?

do u use timers? do u use ADVANCED view on timers?  got a timer on this chime?
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.