Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4

Author Topic: CM21A versus CM15K ==> CM15A versus CM15K  (Read 43035 times)

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
  • Posts: 13283
Re: CM21A versus CM15K ==> CM15A versus CM15K
« Reply #30 on: December 02, 2011, 02:21:32 PM »

Is this the same source that insisted the CM15K was equivalent or better than a CM15A?

Until I actually see one being offered again. I will give it about as much credibility as "Anyone can set it up in 30 minutes" sales pitch.
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 175
  • Posts: 7127
Re: CM21A versus CM15K ==> CM15A versus CM15K
« Reply #31 on: December 02, 2011, 09:49:18 PM »

Read for yourselves:
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 51
  • Posts: 2818
Re: CM21A versus CM15K ==> CM15A versus CM15K
« Reply #32 on: December 03, 2011, 05:55:51 PM »

You left off my favorite comment - the one I added asking about their definition of "the future": Did they mean Spring 2012, or Flying Cars.
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: CM21A versus CM15K ==> CM15A versus CM15K
« Reply #33 on: December 03, 2011, 07:24:58 PM »

Since we didn't get the flying cars in 2001, the future is just that, the future.   We get to wait.  If the year number goes over 2 we just might give it up.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 62
  • Posts: 1748
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: CM21A versus CM15K ==> CM15A versus CM15K
« Reply #34 on: December 03, 2011, 08:00:33 PM »

Since we didn't get the flying cars in 2001, the future is just that, the future.   We get to wait.  If the year number goes over 2 we just might give it up.

The movie I watched said flying cars by 2015, as well as a pepsi costing $50 and a baseball team in Miami (of all places!).
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

thex10shop

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: CM21A versus CM15K ==> CM15A versus CM15K
« Reply #35 on: December 09, 2011, 12:06:14 PM »

Hello,

For those looking for a CM15A, I have the CM11A in stock. X10 has upgraded the CM15A's software (SW31A) so it can now be used with the CM11A. It will even run on Windows 7 (32 or 64 bit) by using the new software. You can buy the SW31A software at a reduced price if you decide to upgrade the CM11A's software.

You can view all this in more detail at my webpage: http://www.thex10shop.com/product/x10-genuine-cm11a-activehome-serial-computer-interface

The CM11A can be programmed and then run on its own--no PC needed--just like the CM15A can do. It's not a direct replacement for the CM15A but then on the other hand it's miles ahead of the CM19A (or CM15K).
Logged

Tom G.

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 26
Re: CM21A versus CM15K ==> CM15A versus CM15K
« Reply #36 on: December 09, 2011, 09:03:36 PM »

Do you sell an adapter to convert the serial cable on the CM11A to USB? How much does that cost?

Is the current verwsion of the CM15A software the one that will run on the CM11A? What version number is it?

Tom G.
Logged

incomenet

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: CM21A versus CM15K ==> CM15A versus CM15K
« Reply #37 on: January 31, 2012, 11:13:26 PM »

What are the differences between the CM11A and the CM15A, other than USB? Just started to go back to X-10
in my new house, and hitting a lot of frustrations. I wanted to be able to use my Harmony remote to control lights in my family room. Needed a IR543(discontinued), found a dealer that still has at a high price. Bought the software and a bunch of new modules etc. Well the IR543 does not communicate back to run macros with the "CM15K", so it appears I need a CM15A, getting outbid on the ones I find on Flea Bay. Now I am wondering if the CM11A which appears reasonably priced is a suitable substitute until or if the CM15A becomes available again.
   Also the light switches I ordered from X10 are re-certified and appliance modules are back ordered, after two months to get my order. It does not look good for this company IMHO.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
  • Posts: 13283
Re: CM21A versus CM15K ==> CM15A versus CM15K
« Reply #38 on: February 01, 2012, 06:16:24 AM »

The CM11A will work with the later AHP software. Support was added at 3.314 and a few bugs where corrected in later versions. 3.318 is the latest.

The CM11A is a serial device and does not have as many features as a CM15A. Much smaller internal memory to store timers. No RF receiver or RF transmitter for X10 remotes and other RF only devices.
Logged

bluezr1

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: CM21A versus CM15K ==> CM15A versus CM15K
« Reply #39 on: March 22, 2012, 10:33:24 AM »

I ordered the activephone pro for $79. On their page (every other page as well) it says it comes with a CM15a. So before I ordered I looked up what CM15a was about. It was exactly what I needed. I was looking for a timer where if need be I could send some packets to my server to wake it up and make the changes to the timers. Well, after receiving my package (came with CM19a) I didn't get what I ordered. I'm not going to leave my server running 24/7 to turn a few things on and off. I'm sorry, but I'm a little teed off, and for good reason. I, for the most part, bought some closet junk unless I can find a way to rectify this. This is BS
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 139
  • Posts: 6119
Re: CM21A versus CM15K ==> CM15A versus CM15K
« Reply #40 on: March 22, 2012, 12:06:37 PM »

I'm not going to leave my server running 24/7 to turn a few things on and off. I'm sorry, but I'm a little teed off, and for good reason. I, for the most part, bought some closet junk unless I can find a way to rectify this. This is BS
Well, other than listen to you vent your frustration, there isn't much (we) the forum members can do.

"X10 Repair Depot" (about the only X10 personnel who posts answers to user comments) stated the CM15A was gone and X10 is working on a replacement. At the same time, a forum user said he just received a *new* CM15A from X10. So I don't think even the regular forum readers can piece togeather the actual picture of what is happening in X10 Land at the moment.

You might try X10 Customer Service to see if they have a solution.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 51
  • Posts: 2818
Re: CM21A versus CM15K ==> CM15A versus CM15K
« Reply #41 on: March 22, 2012, 10:45:05 PM »

Even if you DID get a CM15A, you would STILL need to leave your PC on 24/7. The CM15A can't talk to the Internet on its own, and requires a 24/7 connection to the running PC for it to work.
Logged

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2547
    • davehouston.org
Re: CM21A versus CM15K ==> CM15A versus CM15K
« Reply #42 on: March 22, 2012, 11:06:51 PM »

Do you sell an adapter to convert the serial cable on the CM11A to USB? How much does that cost?
This is surely too late to help Tom G but here is an inexpensive and compact USB-to-RS232 adapter if others have a need. It uses the Prolific PL2303 chip and there are drivers for Windows/Linux/OSX (I've tested this one under XP and other PL2303 devices under all all three.) It ships free by US Mail - I had it in about 3 days.
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No twees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 139
  • Posts: 6119
Re: CM21A versus CM15K ==> CM15A versus CM15K
« Reply #43 on: March 23, 2012, 11:52:01 AM »

I ordered the activephone pro for $79. On their page (every other page as well) it says it comes with a CM15a. So before I ordered I looked up what CM15a was about. It was exactly what I needed. I was looking for a timer where if need be I could send some packets to my server to wake it up and make the changes to the timers. Well, after receiving my package (came with CM19a) I didn't get what I ordered. I'm not going to leave my server running 24/7 to turn a few things on and off. I'm sorry, but I'm a little teed off, and for good reason. I, for the most part, bought some closet junk unless I can find a way to rectify this. This is BS
bluezr1

Directly from the X10 ActivePhone Web page:

"This App sends wireless commands from your phone over the Internet to ActiveHome Pro on your PC."
 and
"Other than that, you need ActiveHome Pro on your computer. "

Where did you get the idea that the CM15A did not need a computer for internet or WiFi connection? Buy yourself a cheap notebook if you can't run the "server" 24/7.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

yellercat

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: CM21A versus CM15K ==> CM15A versus CM15K
« Reply #44 on: March 24, 2012, 08:40:21 PM »

Having to deal with the CM15a replacement... question(s)

1. Is the off / on data and and macros stored in the CM19 after downloading / updating???
2. Is there a clock in the CM19???
3. If so, then could I plug the CM19 into a USB power supply to keep the programs active and usable with the computer off, much like the CM15???

THANKS, J
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.