Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: CR1 Water Sensor & SC1200?  (Read 4902 times)

BlueScreenOfTOM

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 19
CR1 Water Sensor & SC1200?
« on: October 09, 2012, 09:43:27 PM »

I did some googling and I found the CR1 "X10 Water/Moisture Sensor".  This might be nice to have, given that my hot water heater is 20 years old and it has no drip pan  :'

Any idea if this will work with the SC1200?
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 298
  • Posts: 13032
Re: CR1 Water Sensor & SC1200?
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2012, 07:26:12 AM »

Web search for a CR1 X10 Water Sensor made by Minotaur Engineering.
Looks like sold exclusively through Smarthome as the Minotaur site linked directly to Smarthome.
http://www.smarthome.com/71932/X10-Water-Moisture-Sensor-CR1/p.aspx

Very sketchy users manual. Indicates it was originally made for a X10 Powerflash Module and that the Input Mode 'A' was what was used.
That is the low voltage Input Type. So without details. It looks like it outputs a low voltage that can not be directly used by the SC1200.
Also mentioned a wall wart power supply. That is not shown on the photos but is included from what the manual says.

The WaterBug WB-200 has dry contact outputs and could be hard wired to one of the two wired zones on a SC1200.
I am trying some tests on a WB-200 with an Insteon I/OLInc and later can try it on my SC1200.

Update. The WB-200 can be connected to either wired zone inputs. Will trigger an alarm if armed or sound the chime if not armed and the chime option is On.

« Last Edit: October 10, 2012, 09:16:20 AM by Brian H »
Logged

BlueScreenOfTOM

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 19
Re: CR1 Water Sensor & SC1200?
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2012, 05:00:13 PM »

Thanks.  My water heater is pretty far from the SC1200, but not out of wireless range.  Can I wire the WB-200 to a DS12A's external sensor input instead of the wired zone inputs on the 1200?
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 298
  • Posts: 13032
Re: CR1 Water Sensor & SC1200?
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2012, 06:06:44 PM »

Yes I tried my WB200 to the external zone input of a DS12A. If the chime is On and the console is not armed. Get it wet and it chimes.  ;D
Also works in place of the magnetic switch wired to a DS10A.
Just use the NC connection to simulate the Zone is happy when dry.
It has a supervision feature. So until powered up and working the NC is open simulating it failed or has a wet sensor.

They do make a battery operated version but I have never tested one. Since it has a solid state output. Not sure if it is the correct configuration of closed when happy.
« Last Edit: October 11, 2012, 06:35:57 PM by Brian H »
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.