Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Sometimes it works, sometimes not  (Read 4312 times)

EdMc

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Sometimes it works, sometimes not
« on: May 12, 2013, 09:19:53 PM »

I've been using some X10 modules for over ten years with a CM11A and AH v 1.142 on Windows XP.  It just stopped working.  So I got AHPro v 3.318 running on Windows 7, and using a CM15A.  I set everything up, all the modules work, and a timer test worked fine.  I set the timers for overnight operation, and nothing comes on.  I then check each module, and even use All Lights On, and absolutely nothing happens.  The activity log shows the commands transmitted, but have not shown timer execution (Macros).  It works in daytime, not at night.
Any ideas?

Brian H

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
Re: Sometimes it works, sometimes not
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2013, 06:21:14 AM »

If you have been using X10 for ten years.
Are the modules also that old and are not Soft Start? Where they ramp On and Off.
They have to be added to AHP from the Old Lamp (Before Soft Start) list or they do not work correctly.

Since during the day they seem to be OK and not at night. You very well could have a power line signal problem and the cause of the problem maybe running at night. Try selectively unplugging devices you are running at night and see if you can find a few problem devices.
Do you have any phase coupling between the homes phases and if you do what is it?

http://jvde.us/x10_troubleshooting.htm
http://www.act-remote.com/PCC/uncle.htm
http://www.davehouston.net/

EdMc

« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2013, 09:35:46 PM »

My modules are all old (not soft start).  I've used the Old Lamp controllers.  I had a phase coupler all the time.  Smart Home Signal Line Model 4816A2.  Like I said, things have been working for ten years and just last week - poof!