Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Can't install camera wirelessly XX39A  (Read 3400 times)

thegrons

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 29
Can't install camera wirelessly XX39A
« on: July 07, 2013, 05:19:24 PM »

Hello;

I am trying to set up my camera with no luck. When I use a CAT5 cable to the router it works fine but when I disconnect and use the software to identify the camera, the software cannot find the camera; hence I cannot connect wirelessly. Can somebody help? I am using a Netgear router, are there settings in the DDDNS that have to be changed? I know my security settings for the router and enter them but still no luck?
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 276
  • Posts: 10310
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: Can't install camera wirelessly XX39A
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2013, 06:02:00 PM »

Many routers don't handle loop back so a DDNS won't work from in side your Lan.
Mine is one that doesn't.
You need to use the local IP address and port of the camera which may look like this:
http://192.168.1.105:109
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

thegrons

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 29
Re: Can't install camera wirelessly XX39A
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2013, 06:06:41 PM »

Thanks I don't understand what that will do? My router can't even identify the camera so I have no access to it except from a CAT5 cable or (earthlink)
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 276
  • Posts: 10310
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: Can't install camera wirelessly XX39A
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2013, 07:19:36 PM »

You need to specify in the camera setup to use wifi.
In the  Basic Network Settings you can specify a IP, as well as the port, so IP is always the same.
In the Wireless Lan Settings you have to check using Wireless Lan.
If you don't have use wireless Lan checked your router will not see it without a Ethernet cable attached
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

thegrons

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 29
Re: Can't install camera wirelessly XX39A
« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2013, 10:13:30 PM »

You need to specify in the camera setup to use wifi. Which menu do I do this in the Airsight menu tabs and how do I identify it as a wifi?

In the Basic Network Settings you can specify a IP, as well as the port, so IP is always the same. The basic network setting has a DNS field is this what you are talking about? If so what IP address do I want to use and coordinate it with?

In the Wireless Lan Settings you have to check using Wireless Lan. I understand this.

If you don't have use wireless Lan checked your router will not see it without a Ethernet cable attached

OK so I have to hook up the Ethernet cable to get these changes made then saved so the camera can reboot and then I disconnect the camera from the Ethnet and conduct the search or do I keep it connected as the software searched for the camera address?

Thanks,

John
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 297
  • Posts: 12977
Re: Can't install camera wirelessly XX39A
« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2013, 06:02:43 AM »

There is added information in the X10 wiki on the xx39.
If you have not found it yet.
http://kbase.x10.com/wiki/XX39A
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 276
  • Posts: 10310
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: Can't install camera wirelessly XX39A
« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2013, 06:43:56 AM »

With changes made you can disconnect the Ethernet cable.
The search can be done with or without the Ethernet attached.

Also check : http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=28301.0
for more detailed info with pics
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

richy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 6
  • Posts: 303
Re: Can't install camera wirelessly XX39A
« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2013, 09:39:45 AM »

You need to specify in the camera setup to use wifi. Which menu do I do this in the Airsight menu tabs and how do I identify it as a wifi?

In the Basic Network Settings you can specify a IP, as well as the port, so IP is always the same. The basic network setting has a DNS field is this what you are talking about? If so what IP address do I want to use and coordinate it with?

In the Wireless Lan Settings you have to check using Wireless Lan. I understand this.

If you don't have use wireless Lan checked your router will not see it without a Ethernet cable attached

OK so I have to hook up the Ethernet cable to get these changes made then saved so the camera can reboot and then I disconnect the camera from the Ethnet and conduct the search or do I keep it connected as the software searched for the camera address?

Thanks,

John
Did you chick scan ( you may have to do it up to 5 times ) to find your router address... then highlight it from the list ... then put a check in the using wireless lan settings .... then disconnect the cat 5 from the camera... should work.
Logged

thegrons

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 29
Re: Can't install camera wirelessly XX39A
« Reply #8 on: July 08, 2013, 12:28:30 PM »


Did you chick scan ( you may have to do it up to 5 times ) to find your router address... then highlight it from the list ... then put a check in the using wireless lan settings .... then disconnect the cat 5 from the camera... should work.
[/quote]

Yes I tried this several times and it didn't work, one qestion I have is that my router seems to have two SSID's one is house2GHz and the other is house5GHz I am not sure which one to enter into the LAN settings?

Question: so what you are saying is to enter the data into the LAN settings such as SSID, network type, WSK2-SK, and password...all while the camera is connected to the computer WITH the using wireless connection unchecked, click search 5 times; Then disconnect the camera, click the box and then disconnect camera? When in the process do I click "saved" to get the camera to reboot?
Logged

thegrons

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 29
Re: Can't install camera wirelessly XX39A
« Reply #9 on: July 08, 2013, 12:30:47 PM »

With changes made you can disconnect the Ethernet cable.
The search can be done with or without the Ethernet attached.

Also check : http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=28301.0
for more detailed info with pics

I will try this but my router shows two SSID's one is house2GHZ and the other is house5GHz, the 5GHZ is restricted to port 44 and the other is I think random. Or is the real SSID just "house"?
Logged

thegrons

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 29
Re: Can't install camera wirelessly XX39A
« Reply #10 on: July 08, 2013, 12:42:18 PM »

OK so here is where I stand today;

The camera is plugged into the router, I have access to my router for all the info, and I know my IP address for the computer. Where do I go from here? The manual tells me to go into the LAN settings, enter the router SSID, security type (DSK2-PK), the password, click save and then search for the camera to show up in the search window. I have done this with the camera connected and disconnected and nothing shows up and I have clicked search several times. That is why I thought maybe there are other settings in the "network" set up that I have to change. I guess at this point I will go to the second link on this thread and try that (I already read the link that was posted first).

BTW when this is done will I be able to log into multiple cameras from my android phone and control their movement and set the alarms on each one to notify me if one is breached?

Thanks for all your help.
Logged

thegrons

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 29
Re: Can't install camera wirelessly XX39A
« Reply #11 on: July 08, 2013, 02:48:10 PM »

With changes made you can disconnect the Ethernet cable.
The search can be done with or without the Ethernet attached.

Also check : http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=28301.0
for more detailed info with pics

I tried this and it cleared out all my data for the device as well as network settings so I have to uninstall and reinstall. If setting up a camera takes this much time I don't know if it is worth it?
Logged

thegrons

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 29
Re: Can't install camera wirelessly XX39A
« Reply #12 on: July 08, 2013, 03:11:46 PM »

With changes made you can disconnect the Ethernet cable.
The search can be done with or without the Ethernet attached.

Also check : http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=28301.0
for more detailed info with pics

My router is asking for a starting port and ending port what should I enter?
Logged

richy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 6
  • Posts: 303
Re: Can't install camera wirelessly XX39A
« Reply #13 on: July 09, 2013, 05:55:24 PM »

With changes made you can disconnect the Ethernet cable.
The search can be done with or without the Ethernet attached.

Also check : http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=28301.0
for more detailed info with pics

My router is asking for a starting port and ending port what should I enter?

I just look at my router an believe your using the wrong port forwardng tab.

Do you have a tab that has single port forwarding..

you would just need to add the port number and ip address of each camera.

If you need help .. look up your router at portforwarding.com for help with your specific make/model router.

My reply is based on my Linksys 2500 router.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.