Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 34

Author Topic: New x10 Wi-Fi unit  (Read 146643 times)

JeffVolp

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 118
  • Posts: 2224
    • XTB Home Page
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #45 on: July 02, 2014, 05:35:25 PM »

The owner understands everyone's eagerness to get their hands on one of these but they want to make sure it is a quality piece of equipment.

Quality is something people recognize, so it is worth waiting for.

Jeff
Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 138
  • Posts: 6112
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #46 on: July 02, 2014, 07:50:35 PM »

Sidebar question: This is to be WiFi to PLC or RF. Is there Android or iOS apps available, or are apps being developed concurrently?
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 279
  • Posts: 10396
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #47 on: July 02, 2014, 09:22:29 PM »

Sidebar question: This is to be WiFi to PLC or RF. Is there Android or iOS apps available, or are apps being developed concurrently?
I'm told the unit is to be both RF and PLC however initial release may only be PLC.
Originally apps for both Android and iOS were to be developed.However I'm unsure if this is still the case or if only the interface will be developed and you access it like many IP cameras with a browser.
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 138
  • Posts: 6112
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #48 on: July 04, 2014, 08:11:53 PM »

Sidebar question: This is to be WiFi to PLC or RF. Is there Android or iOS apps available, or are apps being developed concurrently?
Originally apps for both Android and iOS were to be developed.However I'm unsure if this is still the case or if only the interface will be developed and you access it like many IP cameras with a browser.
Thanks Tuicemen,

But even accessing via IP address, wouldn't there have to be some sort of HTML page or program where you would list all your X10 address you want to control or monitor?

I am looking forward to getting one of these when they start shipping and am curious what to expect. I can currently control our house with "Droidseer" which interfaces to Homeseer. But the app is a little clunky.

Homeseer has it's own "Homeseer Touch" interface for Android which is very nice, but Homeseer's prices are way out of control. 

Thanks!!

Dave
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 279
  • Posts: 10396
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #49 on: July 05, 2014, 07:25:20 AM »



But even accessing via IP address, wouldn't there have to be some sort of HTML page or program where you would list all your X10 address you want to control or monitor?
I believe that is what they are working on.
I suspect once it is released others will create something to talk to it.
Even if they don't release an API or SDK
Since it is Wi-Fi finding what is sent to control the unit will be a simple mater of playing with Wireshark.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 138
  • Posts: 6112
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #50 on: July 07, 2014, 06:27:03 PM »

I suspect once it is released others will create something to talk to it.
Yes, I think this will be a popular product, which will likely spawn lots of app development.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2547
    • davehouston.org
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #51 on: July 08, 2014, 10:57:24 AM »

If not Wink compatible it will likely be DOA except for a handful of diehards here.
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No twees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

fitbrit

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 27
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #52 on: July 09, 2014, 11:26:52 PM »

If it is browser based with http commands, that would be awesome; it would mean that iRule integration would be possible out of the box.
This is exciting news to see on my first day back on the forums in months.
Logged

Mic_

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 176
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #53 on: August 03, 2014, 11:38:07 AM »

Forgive me folks if I am a bit late to this discussion...Correct me if I am wrong; the new X10 is working to release a new x10 wi-fi controller? when do you anticipate that such will be releales?
The name X10 wi-fi controller sounds simple and to the point
Will the new controller allow us to operate Active Home Pro remotely?
Will we be able to use functions like Active phone pro, garage, etc?
If the answer to the above is yes, I for one, will be ready to purchase when the product is released.
Right now I can controll my old X10 products from within the house with the fix that tuicemen put forward. I am not able to do the same while away from the house however
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 279
  • Posts: 10396
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #54 on: August 03, 2014, 12:07:49 PM »

The latest on the Wi-Fi unit is the software has been completed. However during development of the software it became obvious of some hardware changes that needed to be done.
These changes should be done in a few days and hopefully another test build will be ready for trials.
Baring any issues a release build will follow shortly.
Will the new controller allow us to operate Active Home Pro remotely?
Not directly, however if you have macros created in Activehome Pro you will be able to trigger them with X10 signals.
Quote
Will we be able to use functions like Active phone pro, garage, etc?
You will be able to activate devices from your smartphones but Active phone , my garage etc. are AHP plugins and won't work directly with this hardware.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

bkenobi

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 2001
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #55 on: August 13, 2014, 01:44:12 PM »

I just stumbled across the following available in Europe:

http://www.haibrain.com/tip10rf-ip-to-x10-rf-transceiver-u-plug-p-676.html

How is this different than what X10 is planning?

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 279
  • Posts: 10396
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #56 on: August 13, 2014, 04:21:02 PM »

Haibrain took over Marmitec home automation and security line which had this for a while and is for the European market.

I'm told the new unit X10 has in the works is a different animal and will be capable of more. ::) :'
I'm told a RF transceiver won't be needed for it.
However until a release unit is available specifics are sketchy.
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7126
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #57 on: August 13, 2014, 08:52:38 PM »

I just stumbled across the following available in Europe:

http://www.haibrain.com/tip10rf-ip-to-x10-rf-transceiver-u-plug-p-676.html

How is this different than what X10 is planning?

You know.... I think I might be pretty happy with that.
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

Mic_

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 176
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #58 on: September 20, 2014, 02:17:09 PM »

So, I am happy to hear that this X10 venture goes on. I went to the site listed above to check on the euro version listed there; was it just listed for reference purposes? It is all in German...
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 138
  • Posts: 6112
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #59 on: September 20, 2014, 03:28:54 PM »

Mic,
Click the English flag, upper right corner of page.

Trouble is it only converts WiFi app commands to X10 wireless (433mHz for Europe system). I'm hoping for the new X10 WiFi before Christmas, but I have not seen anything that indicates a debut, a promise date, or even a "we are a year behind on this baby. don't hold breath" statement. Even a preliminary manual would get me so excited I will vibrate.  ;)
« Last Edit: September 20, 2014, 03:39:15 PM by dave w »
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 34
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.