Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: "Hardware Configuration" -- Tutorial Needed  (Read 2163 times)

jclarkw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 90
"Hardware Configuration" -- Tutorial Needed
« on: March 30, 2016, 05:37:02 PM »

In AHP (I'm using 3.318 with Tuicemen's AHP Lifejacket installed on a Windows 7 SP1 machine) there are at least two settings on the Hardware Configuration page that I don't fully understand, and the build-in "Help" seems ambiguous:

1) "Tranceived House Code(s)" -- what exactly does this setting do?  "Help" says, "...you can also use the ActiveHome Pro USB Interface to act as a transceiver for your X10 remote controls...   If there are House Codes you don't want ActiveHome Pro to send on to the power line..."  This makes it pretty clear that received RF signals from remote are rebroadcasts on house wiring, right?

But is a setting here also necessary for the interface to receive commands over the house wiring (e.g., to trigger stored macros)?  Previously I had understood that "Tranceived House Code(s)" applied to RF only (hence the "None" option and the distinct "Monitored House Code" setting).  Even if this is correct, there are several other possibilities.  How many of these is correct?

     a) Received RF signals from a remote are acted on by the CM15A (e.g., to trigger stored macros)?
     b) The CM15A transmits RF signals for commands picked up from the house wiring?
     c) The CM15A transmits RF signals for commands generated within the CM15A itself in response to its programming (or to commands from a connected computer)?

2) "Monitored House Code" -- what exactly does setting mean?  ("Help" only talks about keeping track of module status, presumably by listening to commands on this house code.)  Does this setting have anything to do with whether the CM15A responds to these commands with actions (e.g., to trigger stored macros, or to re-transmit them as RF signals).

Any clarifications would be appreciated! -- jclarkw
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 277
  • Posts: 10314
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

jclarkw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 90
Re: "Hardware Configuration" -- Tutorial Needed
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2016, 04:35:58 PM »

See: http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=7951.0

This is extremely helpful, and I have bookmarked the link.  If I may ask one more related question that doesn't seem to be covered there:

I'm pretty sure the CM15A has RF transmission capability (as well as the RF receiving that's discussed, for example, in "Tranceived House Code(s)").  If this is true, is it used at all by AHP?  Is there any way to control it? -- jclarkw
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 298
  • Posts: 12991
Re: "Hardware Configuration" -- Tutorial Needed
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2016, 05:31:17 PM »

Yes the CM15A has an X10 RF Transmitter in it.
For modules that can be controlled by an X10RF Command.
In the appliance list. The RR501 and TM751 Transceivers.
In the Other List. The UX17A IR Commander, UX21A VCR Commander, UX23 VCR Commander II.

If you have On Alert it adds things like RF commands to Security Consoles.
Can act like a KR32 Key fob and SH624 Remote to name two.
Logged

jclarkw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 90
Re: "Hardware Configuration" -- Tutorial Needed
« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2016, 06:11:55 PM »

Yes the CM15A has an X10 RF Transmitter in it...

Thanks!  In this particular unit I long ago disabled both receive (I know this worked) and transmit (I have no modules to test) in hardware, using information provided by dhouston.  But is there a way to turn the transmitter off in software (analagous to "Tranceived House Code(s)" -> None)?  Or does it only transmit if one of those special modules is addressed in AHP? -- jclarkw
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 277
  • Posts: 10314
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: "Hardware Configuration" -- Tutorial Needed
« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2016, 06:46:00 PM »

Early on it was discovered the help files in AHP needed expanding on.
Each plugin section has a simular sticky threads (and not just ones I started).
If you haven't yet gone threw the sections and read the sticky posts I suggest that you do.
Some may not be of interest but they all have some useful info.
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 298
  • Posts: 12991
Re: "Hardware Configuration" -- Tutorial Needed
« Reply #6 on: April 01, 2016, 06:06:08 AM »

I am not too proficient with AHP anymore.
From what I remember RF Transmissions are not routinely sent. As almost all the X10 modules can't process X10 RF anyway.
Logged

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2543
    • davehouston.org
Re: "Hardware Configuration" -- Tutorial Needed
« Reply #7 on: April 01, 2016, 06:35:09 AM »

I think the primary use was for the Ninja Pan'n'Tilt camera mounts.
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No twees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 277
  • Posts: 10314
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: "Hardware Configuration" -- Tutorial Needed
« Reply #8 on: April 01, 2016, 08:10:01 AM »

AHP won't send a RF unless specifically told to do so (Advanced Commands)
Or if you click on a module which is a RF module like a (TM751)
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.