Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Cell Plans and the app  (Read 3542 times)

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 282
  • Posts: 10497
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
Cell Plans and the app
« on: January 23, 2018, 02:56:25 PM »

I don't have data on my phone but I can turn on devices from my local art gallery using its free Wi-Fi ! ;)
« Last Edit: January 25, 2018, 11:26:55 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 175
  • Posts: 7127
Re: Cell Plans and the app
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2018, 03:34:49 PM »

I don't have data on my phone....

A lot (millions) of people are using Apple pay on their phones, or just shopping at Amazon, buying tickets, or even just using their calendar track expenses, appointments and events. Not to mention texting with.... who knows... or saving pictures of... I can't even imagine what. Everything you buy, everywhere you go, every communication is recorded and shared. 

The collected bits and pieces of data that are left dangling here and there are very likely collected by... more than one... government source at any given time. But the individual data points are meaningless.

Imagine the data out there being like people at a rock concert. Everyone is talking, singing, cheering laughing, whispering thing in each others ears. If you record the sound to you phone you can play it back later and decide that 35,000 people were having fun. But you'll never know anything of the individuals that attended the concert. 
« Last Edit: January 25, 2018, 11:27:06 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 282
  • Posts: 10497
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
Re: Cell Plans and the app
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2018, 04:18:01 PM »

By data I was referring to my cell plan.
I can not send or receive any data via cell service including pictures this is disabled both on my phone and at my cell service providers end.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2018, 11:27:17 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 175
  • Posts: 7127
Re: Cell Plans and the app
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2018, 04:22:23 PM »

By data I was referring to my cell plan.
I can not send or receive any data via cell service including pictures this is disabled both on my phone and at my cell service providers end.

Oh.... your using a out-of-service phone over WiFi. I had at one time used my old iPhone (4) as a remote. But I had a issue... I can't remember what. That is a real thought.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2018, 11:27:32 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 282
  • Posts: 10497
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
Re: Cell Plans and the app
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2018, 05:15:46 PM »

Not out of service it just has a basic calling plan.
I do have an old phone which I've also conected to the WM100 but not sure how I'll  use it yet.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2018, 11:27:45 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

no57

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 19
Re: Cell Plans and the app
« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2018, 08:54:31 PM »

I ordered my WM100 yesterday. Waiting for delivery, I am trying to gather as much info as possible. I have not seen mention of a MAC Address anywhere for the device, is it accessible?
« Last Edit: January 25, 2018, 11:28:00 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 282
  • Posts: 10497
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
Re: Cell Plans and the app
« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2018, 04:33:35 AM »

The mac address isn't displayed anywhere however a good Wi-Fi tool or your router should display it.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2018, 11:28:12 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Rman1159

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 7
Re: Cell Plans and the app
« Reply #7 on: January 24, 2018, 06:26:49 AM »

Thanks for the reply's. My hub should be delivered today. I like the AHP program which allowed me to set up timers and macros and using it was very simple. I'm hoping this wifi hub takes its place well.  Can cameras be integrated into this system to remotely view. I am also looking for a automation system to integrate a security system and camera system with my x-10 devices and operate it all from my smart phone. Or is this asking to much. I am looking for suggestions. I know I'm in the right place for some technical help. Also does anyone actually have there cm15a working? I cannot get my AHP program to function after programming.

                                Thanks
                                 Rman
« Last Edit: January 25, 2018, 11:28:29 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 282
  • Posts: 10497
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
Re: Cell Plans and the app
« Reply #8 on: January 24, 2018, 06:42:19 AM »

I suggested many things for the WM100 and app during testing adding camera support was one of them.
Unfortunately if the developer was to add everything I suggested prior to release we would still be waiting on it.
Look how long AHP took to evolve into the powerhouse it became.
the WM100 and current app will not currently replace AHP and the current hardware will not do RF (I'm unsure if it has the internals) so security is out.

I like many have AHP and the CM15A up and running on Windows 10 64bit
I also have it working on Windows 10 32 bit
The 64 bit OS does have many hurdles you have to overcome remember AHP is a 32 bit application so it works best on a 32 bit OS.
Your not alone in having issues with AHP fortunately there are several threads on the topic to hopefully help.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2018, 11:28:39 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

no57

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 19
Re: Cell Plans and the app
« Reply #9 on: January 24, 2018, 09:12:34 AM »

The mac address isn't displayed anywhere however a good Wi-Fi tool or your router should display it.

Thanks Tuicemen, I reserve adresses on my network, but that will be easy to do.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2018, 11:28:51 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 282
  • Posts: 10497
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
Re: Cell Pans and the app
« Reply #10 on: January 24, 2018, 09:17:33 AM »

the app displays the IP address and port it is using in the history page.
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

roger1818

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 1072
  • Roger H.
Re: Cell Plans and the app
« Reply #11 on: January 24, 2018, 01:34:44 PM »

Not out of service it just has a basic calling plan.
I do have an old phone which I've also conected to the WM100 but not sure how I'll  use it yet.

I knew exactly what you meant on your original post.  Is having a voice (and text) only calling plan without a data package a Canadian thing?  Do all calling plans in the USA include at least some (if not unlimited) data?
« Last Edit: January 25, 2018, 11:29:02 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 282
  • Posts: 10497
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
Re: Cell Plans and the app
« Reply #12 on: January 24, 2018, 01:41:29 PM »

I knew exactly what you meant on your original post.  Is having a voice (and text) only calling plan without a data package a Canadian thing? 
Maybe just for penny pinchers like me rofl
You can't even get my plan anymore.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2018, 11:29:14 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

JeffVolp

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 122
  • Posts: 2289
    • XTB Home Page
Re: Cell Plans and the app
« Reply #13 on: January 24, 2018, 02:04:11 PM »

I knew exactly what you meant on your original post.  Is having a voice (and text) only calling plan without a data package a Canadian thing? 
Maybe just for penny pinchers like me rofl
You can't even get my plan anymore.

My pre-paid 10 cents per minute plan costs $10 for 120 days, and does include a limited amount of data so I can check email when traveling.  Of course, it doesn't consume minutes when connected by WiFi.

Jeff
« Last Edit: January 25, 2018, 11:29:29 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days

roger1818

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 1072
  • Roger H.
Re: Cell Plans and the app
« Reply #14 on: January 25, 2018, 06:35:43 AM »

I knew exactly what you meant on your original post.  Is having a voice (and text) only calling plan without a data package a Canadian thing? 
Maybe just for penny pinchers like me rofl
You can't even get my plan anymore.

My pre-paid 10 cents per minute plan costs $10 for 120 days, and does include a limited amount of data so I can check email when traveling.  Of course, it doesn't consume minutes when connected by WiFi.

Jeff

Getting off topic, but that could be decent when travelling to the US.  A lot cheaper than paying for roaming.  How does one get this?
« Last Edit: January 25, 2018, 11:29:41 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.