Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Smartenit Harmony P2, G1, G2 X10, Insteon, ZigBee controller  (Read 2375 times)

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 142
  • Posts: 1051
Smartenit Harmony P2, G1, G2 X10, Insteon, ZigBee controller
« on: March 12, 2019, 09:57:17 PM »

Does anyone here have any experience with the Smartenit Harmony P2, G1, or G2 X10, Insteon, ZigBee controller?  Last week I was browsing ebay for X10 controllers using 'SmartLinc' as a search term and came across a listing for the P2 (basic) version of one of these and after researching it, found the G2 (top of the line) model on Amazon, used, for 39 bucks. With Amazon's great return policy I took a shot and had it in my hands last Wednesday.  At first it wouldn't connect to my router so I reached out to Smartenit and after a few emails they deregistered it from the former user so I could connect.  They've been very helpful answering some questions and even pushed a f/w upgrade to get the email function working.

I'm not sure what SBC it uses but it's similar to a Pi and runs the Armbian OS which looks and feels a lot like Raspbian. There's a free app that I've used to play around with it but except for getting it to send me a daily email I can't do much till I get back home next week where I have the PLM it needs for X10/Insteon operation. It has a built in ZigBee radio but I don't have any ZB devices yet. The app is the only way to program it but it can also be accessed through a website. AND, it has an Alexa Skill! 
The clock is maintained through their server based on the address entered at initial setup. The DST change Sunday morning worked without issue.

The G2 has an HDMI port, Ethernet port, Audio jack, SD (full size) port, Mic jack and 2 USB A ports. It also has WiFi and - I think - BT.

Seems like what the WM100 could and should have been! I'll report more next week but would love to hear from others.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 298
  • Posts: 13008
Re: Smartenit Harmony P2, G1, G2 X10, Insteon, ZigBee controller
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2019, 06:07:44 AM »

Your description sounds like this one. https://smartenit.com/product/harmony-g2-2/
The base model does ZigBee and Wi-Fi.
To add Insteon and X10 you need a PLM. Looks like it is older power line only USB from the options list. Can't say if the newer 2413U will work.
There is a Quick Guide on the products web page. Resources tab.
« Last Edit: March 13, 2019, 06:18:28 AM by Brian H »
Logged

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 142
  • Posts: 1051
Re: Smartenit Harmony P2, G1, G2 X10, Insteon, ZigBee controller
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2019, 06:28:51 AM »

Exactly, that's the site I found after first finding the P1 and I used the Quick Guide for the initial setup. Unfortunately, that's the ONLY documentation available. I asked if there was a more detailed manual but was told it wasn't needed as the app is designed to be intuitive. I have an old 2412U to use with it and they sell their own branded version as well. The stuff sold under the Smartenit brand has aways looked like it came from the same place as the Insteon line sharing plastics and packaging.
  Once I get back next week and have the 2412U connected I'll be able to see how it performs.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 298
  • Posts: 13008
Re: Smartenit Harmony P2, G1, G2 X10, Insteon, ZigBee controller
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2019, 06:44:08 AM »

Most of the Smartenit {originality SimpleHomeNet} where built on the base 2412 or 2413 PLM main board and their custom daughter boards.

They went back to the power line only 2412 boards as the 2413 Dual Band boards have a known power supply issue and fail after about 2 years and a few months. There is a very large thread on the UDI {ISY99i-ISY994i series controllers} on how we have rebuilt them with quality low ESR capacitors as their where not good quality.
Logged

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 142
  • Posts: 1051
Re: Smartenit Harmony P2, G1, G2 X10, Insteon, ZigBee controller
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2019, 08:09:02 AM »

I was an early adopter of Insteon products and bought a houseful of stuff at 50% off on an introductory dealer promo. That was just before Jeff released his XTB products which enabled me to come back to X10.  Insteon had some quality issues with the early switch paddles but extended the warranty for many years. I ultimately had to replace them all but they were good about advance shipping replacements. They originally offered an X10 to Insteon 'translator' which didn't last too long. After trying several controllers I settled on ISY, first with the square box and then the 994i. I installed the old square one (i99?) in a friends hose about 12 years ago to control some X10 switches and it's still sitting there doing it's job. They make an excellent controller. I haven't used one in 6 years as it stayed with the house I sold. I still have some of the SimpleHomeNet I/O devices in my "inventory."

I've been playing around with the G2 and so far I'm impressed with the options offered in the menus. For those who want what the WM100 promised but failed to deliver, in a ready-made "take it out of the box and use it" package, this might be the ticket.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 298
  • Posts: 13008
Re: Smartenit Harmony P2, G1, G2 X10, Insteon, ZigBee controller
« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2019, 03:39:15 PM »

I was an early member of the Developers Group. When it cost around $90 to join.
Got the SALadIDE compiler. A few 2414U, 2414S, 2814U modules and the Developers Documentation. Modules where discounted to us for awhile also.
I still may have buried somewhere the X10 to Insteon Translator code. That could be installed in a PLC.
One day the group just closed and all the documentation I paid to have access to. Ended up open source for awhile.

I use an ISY994i now and my early modules still have X10 support in them. So my HR12A palm pad can still control them. I never found an Insteon remote I liked.
Logged

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2543
    • davehouston.org
Re: Smartenit Harmony P2, G1, G2 X10, Insteon, ZigBee controller
« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2019, 03:59:19 PM »

I was an early member of the Developers Group.
Me too. But I abandoned them when they changed protocols & hardware very early on.
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No twees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 142
  • Posts: 1051
Re: Smartenit Harmony P2, G1, G2 X10, Insteon, ZigBee controller
« Reply #7 on: October 03, 2019, 12:52:59 PM »

Your description sounds like this one. https://smartenit.com/product/harmony-g2-2/
The base model does ZigBee and Wi-Fi.
To add Insteon and X10 you need a PLM. Looks like it is older power line only USB from the options list. Can't say if the newer 2413U will work.
There is a Quick Guide on the products web page. Resources tab.

I swapped out my 2412U for a 2413U (dual band) so I could use an Insteon wireless Open/Close sensor on the lid of my package drop box. The 2413U works well. Now I get a text when a package is delivered - IF the driver uses it! USPS & UPS always use the box but with FEDEX and Amazon drivers it's 50-50 even with a sign under the doorbell.
Logged

nabril15

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 147
Re: Smartenit Harmony P2, G1, G2 X10, Insteon, ZigBee controller
« Reply #8 on: January 22, 2021, 11:52:39 AM »

hello all
I revive this topic as I was digging around for information on Smartenit.

Current: Some Xps 3's, MT14A, a lamp rocket screw-in module, and a pad with the RR501 receiver.
Aiming: I'm looking to perpahs replace that MT14A with something more modern perhaps. At the moment, everything works fine, so I don't HAVE TO make this switch; I'm merely exploring.

1. Based on the comments above, it looks like I can replace that MT14A with the Harmony G2 with the PLM that connects via a serial cable. Can it be that simple? Can I operate all of my existing x-10 modules?

2. Can I keep my remote control capability? I assume so since the RR501 will stay plugged in.

3. The G2 has an ethernet port, so I assume that it has to be placed close to a router or a long ethernet patch cable.

4. @Brian H mentioned to me "I believe the PLM has a lower power line output than the MT14A, so you could encounter more signal issues".  Will that be a concern??

THank you
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 298
  • Posts: 13008
Re: Smartenit Harmony P2, G1, G2 X10, Insteon, ZigBee controller
« Reply #9 on: January 22, 2021, 06:20:37 PM »

Are you looking at the P2 or G2?

Both use a USB PLM not a serial PLM. The $20 PLM option they offer is a good deal. It is power line only but the PLM only does X10 on the power lines anyway.

I know the P2 has a USB cable and power supply in the box. I would expect a G2 would also have a power supply and USB cable in the box.

I know the P2 is programmed though their APP and the G2 sales page indicates it also uses an APP. With an account you open on their server.

When you looked at their site. Did you download the users guide to see how it is programmed? The G2 indicates it can be Wi-Fi or Ethernet access. P2 is strictly Ethernet.
« Last Edit: January 22, 2021, 06:23:41 PM by Brian H »
Logged

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 142
  • Posts: 1051
Re: Smartenit Harmony P2, G1, G2 X10, Insteon, ZigBee controller
« Reply #10 on: January 22, 2021, 07:23:24 PM »

I have both a G2 and a P2 (from when I had two places) and, for the purposes of X10, they are the same with the exception of WiFi.  The P2 is Ethernet only so needs to be plugged into a router or a switch while the G2 has both WiFi & Ethernet.  Both are controlled with the same app and both run the same firmware.  In fact, the app can control multiple units as I did for both homes.  Both have ZigBee radios built in and both can control Insteon devices through the PLM.  Of course there is a Smartenit Alexa skill and Google Home. There is also a web portal in addition to the app for control from a PC.

The biggest difference is the price with the G2 costing $100 more than the $39.95 P2. The PLM is an additional $20. Both models include a power supply and USB cable.

As far as overall control, everything already in place will work as it always has so no changes need to be made.  The P2/G2 has sophisticated programming capabilities so it can certainly handle that if migrating from another controller.  You can leave the MT14A in place and/or set up your schedules with the P2/G2 as desired.  All of your X10 RF devices will continue as they are now.

Logged

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 142
  • Posts: 1051
Re: Smartenit Harmony P2, G1, G2 X10, Insteon, ZigBee controller
« Reply #11 on: January 22, 2021, 07:34:19 PM »

QUOTE: @Brian H mentioned to me "I believe the PLM has a lower power line output than the MT14A, so you could encounter more signal issues".  Will that be a concern??

Forgot to address this in my previous post. I haven't had any X10 signal issues with the PLM and it's located in a different part of the house from my Stargate controller.  That said, I do have an XTB-IIR installed so I wouldn't expect any problems. 

Also, as far as locating the P2 next to the router, even if that's an inconvenient place there's no reason to see or touch it once plugged in.  There's nothing to see and no buttons to push as everything is controlled through the app.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 298
  • Posts: 13008
Re: Smartenit Harmony P2, G1, G2 X10, Insteon, ZigBee controller
« Reply #12 on: January 23, 2021, 06:26:09 AM »

Thank you for the information. It helped clarify the way they operate.

There are no local control buttons. Like you have on the MT14A. So turning On and Off modules is done with the APP.

The MT14A can do 1 House Code and Unit Codes 1-8. Can't 100%  say about the P2 or G2. My thoughts are all House Codes and Unit Codes, 256 addresses.

X10 indicates on the sales site. The MT14A is an improved MT13A. With a stronger power line signal and clearer display. So the tests with an MT13A and 2412U PLM. I was going to try today may not be accurate.

I remember seeing Smarthome indicating  >3.2 volts into a test 5 Ohm load not a real world  branch power circuit.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2021, 10:25:38 AM by Brian H »
Logged

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 142
  • Posts: 1051
Re: Smartenit Harmony P2, G1, G2 X10, Insteon, ZigBee controller
« Reply #13 on: January 23, 2021, 11:02:08 AM »

Thank you for the information. It helped clarify the way they operate.

There are no local control buttons. Like you have on the MT14A. So turning On and Off modules is done with the APP.

The MT14A can do 1 House Code and Unit Codes 1-8. Can't 100%  say about the P2 or G2. My thoughts are all House Codes and Unit Codes, 256 addresses.

X10 indicates on the sales site. The MT14A is an improved MT13A. With a stronger power line signal and clearer display. So the tests with an MT13A and 2412U PLM. I was going to try today may not be accurate.

I remember seeing Smarthome indicating  >3.2 volts into a test 5 Ohm load not a real world  branch power circuit.

I can confirm that all 256 X10 addresses are available.  For local control in addition to the app, Alexa/GH and PalmPads are convenient.  A single Alexa or PalmPad command can trigger a macro in the P2/G2 to create scenes.  X10, Insteon & ZigBee can all work together as well.  I have both an Insteon Open/Close sensor on my porch package box and an MS16A to tell me when a person and/or package arrives.  When the P2 sees the sensors triggered it sends X10 commands to flash a light and sound a chime as well as push a notification to the app and send an email or text.
I think of the P2/G2 as the Swiss Army knife of automation.
Logged

nabril15

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 147
Re: Smartenit Harmony P2, G1, G2 X10, Insteon, ZigBee controller
« Reply #14 on: January 23, 2021, 04:02:58 PM »

Wow Brian and Brobin
What an amazing and thorough reply.
Holy knowledgeable people Batman!!

Thank you so much.

Being near a router is not an issue, so the cheaper P2 would suffice since the price difference is substantial. I may just get one to experiment, or stay put with my trusty and 90s-looking mt014.

On a side note. I will soon install an Eaton chspt2ultra surge protector on my main panel, and I hope that it doesn't bring down my small x10 empire.

Thanks again guys. This was really helpful.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.