Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6

Author Topic: Harmony P2. Help  (Read 3154 times)

IPS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 278
Harmony P2. Help
« on: December 04, 2020, 10:33:14 AM »

Hi guys. Hopefully you all are safe and healthy.
Two things have happened since my last post.
1. I have received the Harmony P2. and
2. out of no where,I see all the devices, including X10, on the device list of Alexa. However they do not respond.
Now question for and help from brobin. I have installed the device but it is not discovering and devices. Insteon USB adapter came with the device. shouldn't it be X10 adapter?
 
« Last Edit: December 05, 2020, 08:10:39 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 141
  • Posts: 971
Re: Harmony P2. Help
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2020, 10:58:53 AM »

The Insteon 2412U PLM handles X10 as well Insteon so you have the correct unit and can use both, plus ZigBee devices from the built in radio in the P2.  Have you enabled the Smartenit Skill in your Alexa App? Also check that you have the latest firmware which, at this point, is 3.15.0-14.  If the Alexa skill is enabled already then let me know and we'll go from there.  When I discovered devices with the skill enabled they worked right away with commands like "Alexa, turn on office lamps."
Logged

IPS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 278
Re: Harmony P2. Help
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2020, 11:51:44 AM »

Yes it is same update and it is enabled in Alexa app.
Logged

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 141
  • Posts: 971
Re: Harmony P2. Help
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2020, 12:13:21 PM »

Can you turn modules on and off from the Smartenit app? If so, then I'd try clearing all the devices in the Alex app and doing the discovery again.  When you give an Alexa command what is her response? 
Logged

IPS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 278
Re: Harmony P2. Help
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2020, 12:26:02 PM »

There are no devices in Smartenit app. what need to done to discover devices in smartenit app?
It only has the hub and another device that i physically added. pressing on it turns the bulb on, only on the iphone and not in reality.
In Alexa app, response is OK but nothing happens.
Logged

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 141
  • Posts: 971
Re: Harmony P2. Help
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2020, 12:37:51 PM »

Add a device by tapping the + sign in the upper right hand corner to add a device.  Tap Switches/Outlets then scroll down to X10 Appliance Modules or X10 Dimmers and select one of those as appropriate. Tap "Add Now" Put in the Name you'd like and the House and Unit Code then tap save.  Go back to Devices and it should be there. Tap the big circle with the switch or outlet icon and it should turn on and you should see a green ring around the icon.  Now tell Alexa to discover devices and it should be discovered and work. If at some point in the process this doesn't work let me know where it's hanging up.
Logged

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 141
  • Posts: 971
Re: Harmony P2. Help
« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2020, 12:46:56 PM »

BTW, for testing, plug the X10 module into the same outlet as the PLM. and verify the USB between the PLM and P2 are plugged in OK.
Logged

IPS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 278
Re: Harmony P2. Help
« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2020, 01:26:30 PM »

When I select X10, pop up say "Interface Needed" Your Gateway does not have a X10 Interface to add this device.
Logged

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 141
  • Posts: 971
Re: Harmony P2. Help
« Reply #8 on: December 04, 2020, 01:34:08 PM »

Seems like the P2 isn't seeing the PLM.  Is the PLM plugged into the USB port and into an outlet?  Is the LED on the side of the PLM on?  If everything is plugged in OK try pulling the power on the P2, wait 15 seconds and plug it back in.  To reset the PLM, unplug it, press and hold the SET button for at least 10 seconds while plugging it in.
Logged

IPS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 278
Re: Harmony P2. Help
« Reply #9 on: December 04, 2020, 01:59:23 PM »

I reset the device and now I can add devices.Alexa discovered the devices but nothing happens.
Logged

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 141
  • Posts: 971
Re: Harmony P2. Help
« Reply #10 on: December 04, 2020, 02:11:29 PM »

Do you have local control - module turns on when you tap the circle?  When you ask Alexa to turn on a device does the PLM LED flicker.  Do you see the green circle turn on?  If you'd like, I'm happy to have a look at your P2's web portal to see if the devices are there. I'll PM you.
Logged

IPS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 278
Re: Harmony P2. Help
« Reply #11 on: December 04, 2020, 02:38:21 PM »

No local control. Nothing flickers when I ask Alexa. Only the circle turns green but nothing happens.
I have sent you login info.
Logged

IPS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 278
Re: Harmony P2. Help
« Reply #12 on: December 04, 2020, 03:09:12 PM »

Just got a email from smartenit saying that Insteon PLM does not work with X10. so have to order on for X10.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 297
  • Posts: 12977
Re: Harmony P2. Help
« Reply #13 on: December 04, 2020, 03:51:03 PM »

The 2413U or 2412U PLM do X10 fine.
Though the Smartenit P2 with a PLM may not be able to do Alex10.
Logged

IPS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 278
Re: Harmony P2. Help
« Reply #14 on: December 04, 2020, 04:40:15 PM »


Re: Alex10 (x10 control with Amazon echo, dot or tap)
Reply #253 on: Today at 03:51:03 PM
ReplyQuote
The 2413U or 2412U PLM do X10 fine.
Though the Smartenit P2 with a PLM may not be able to do Alex10.

What are 2412U or 2413U ?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.