Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Poll

Would you consider adding this to your PiX10Hub?

No, I have no interest, already have stable Alexa/Google X10 control
- 0 (0%)
No, but maybe add it to a different computer
- 0 (0%)
Yes, I need something more reliable that a skill gives verses a software bridge.
- 0 (0%)
Yes, even if just to compare to HA-Bridge
- 0 (0%)
I've already ditched HA-Bridge and have TRIGGERcmd handling Alexa and or Google
- 1 (100%)

Total Members Voted: 1


Author Topic: An Alexa and Google Home skill for the PiX10Hub?  (Read 697 times)

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 279
  • Posts: 10399
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
An Alexa and Google Home skill for the PiX10Hub?
« on: January 07, 2022, 11:24:31 AM »

Yep, found an Alexa skill that works very well with HomeGenie (HG) configured devices.
It is possible to use the TRIGGERcmd Smart Home skill for performing tasks on the PiX10Hub and not just X10 with HG.
TRIGGERcmd also will allow you to perform the same tasks using Google Home.  :)%

This is not a new thing!  skibumtim first posted about it in Nov 2018. I just started to play with it since HA-Bridge seems to be giving so many issues with adding new devices for Alexa.
TRIGGERcmd has been used to give voice control via Google and Amazon for several years now. However most were using it in Windows
with ActiveHome SDK test program ahcmd.exe and several batch files for X10.

I currently have a single bash script which is used for all my HG X10 switches & plugs. With a little work I believe I can get this to work for all HG configured devices no mater the protocol.
 >!
« Last Edit: February 01, 2022, 06:03:35 PM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 279
  • Posts: 10399
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: An Alexa and Google Home skill for the PiX10Hub?
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2022, 01:20:18 PM »

I now have a bash script that will control any PLC x10 device via Alexa as well control ZWave devices configured in my HG. :)%
For those that wish to play with TRIGGERcmd and Alexa or Google Home here is the script which I simply called HG.sh
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/bash
echo "Sending HomeGenie the $1 command $2 to turn $3"
curl http://localhost:8084/api/HomeAutomation.$1/$2/Control.$3
Note: you'll most likely have to change the IP and port to match your HG PI.

Make this executable  with chmod +x HG.sh
To test type sh HG.sh X10 A3 Off this will turn off the X10 device A3
to turn off a ZWave device replace X10 with Zwave replace A3 with the node# you wish to control

 
« Last Edit: February 01, 2022, 06:03:55 PM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 279
  • Posts: 10399
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: An Alexa and Google Home skill for the PiX10Hub?
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2022, 05:02:50 PM »

Sadly I discovered TRIGGERcmd doesn't support Dim functions from Alexa or Google currently. :(
Not that I use dim functions much anyways, I put in a request to add that to the skills.
As of now I created a work arround for it modifying my HG script. This will mean having to add an additional device for the dim action to the command.json file ::) :'

I also Requested a helper (plugin) be added for HomeGenie like that used in HA-Bridge. It will certainly make Setting up HG with TRIGGERcmd much simpler for new users. if you wish to give this suggestion a upvote log into the Triggercmd forum and let the developer know https://www.triggercmd.com/forum/topic/1957/add-a-helper-plugin-for-easy-setup
 >!
« Last Edit: February 01, 2022, 06:04:16 PM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 279
  • Posts: 10399
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: An Alexa and Google Home skill for the PiX10Hub?
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2022, 04:58:33 PM »

There are 3 TRIGGERcmd Skills but the "TRIGGERcmd Smart Home" skill is the newest and has better voice recognition of commands. I've tried all three.
Your trigger info reside on your device, Alexa only sees the device names and sends the info (ON/OFF) to the Triggercmd agent running on what ever PC you install it to. It doesn't even have to be installed on your PiX10Hub PI.

This can be installed on any OS but these are the directions for installing on a Raspi.
Pi-Setup Link
You'll need to setup a free account prior to installing as you'll need your account TOKEN during the install.
« Last Edit: February 01, 2022, 06:04:36 PM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 279
  • Posts: 10399
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: An Alexa and Google Home skill for the PiX10Hub?
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2022, 09:35:11 AM »

The option to Dim X10 devices is now available via Alexa. :)%
Not that I use that much. :'
TRIGGERcmd is now also on AWS this seems to have improved the speed at which devices are switching (maybe just my imagination) ::) :'
Dimming from Google I've yet to get working but there may need some extra coding added to the Google skill.
Dimming from google is something I probably would never use. So I'm not pushing for that option to be added.
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.