Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Some work, most don't  (Read 17988 times)

joey

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Some work, most don't
« on: February 17, 2006, 07:40:20 PM »

I've got the Active home pro setup with the
cm15a and a few modules. Particularly I have
on one circuit breaker a lamp module, a
socket rocket, a 3 way module with companion
switch and a receptacle module. On another
circuit breaker<Same feed from electric
company though> I have a dimmer switch and an
appliance switch.

Right this second I can control my socket
rocket and receptacle from Active Home pro.
but none of the others. Sometimes I can
control the three way switch too. Interesting
enough the lamp module and the lamp that has
the socket rocket share a switch and only one
of them works.

I've already spent a lot of money on this
equipment and am hesitant to finish off my
house when the majority of it isn't working
as is. The house is also a relatively small
house at only 1600 sqft.
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: Some work, most don't
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2006, 12:34:56 AM »

You probably need a phase coupler. If you
have a 220 volt three phase feeder from your
electric supplier, half your house is on
Phase A and half on Phase B. If the Socket
Rocket is on phase A and the CM15A is on
phase A, AHP can control it, but not any
module on phase B.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 301
  • Posts: 13086
Re: Some work, most don't
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2006, 07:03:56 AM »

As dan said; Sounds like a split phase
signal problem. If you have a 220 volt
device like a dryer; turn it on and see if
the problem items get better. If they are
you need a signal coupler between the
phases. They make hard wired ones for
breaker boxes or plug in types for things
like dryer or stove outlets.
Another problem could be powerline noise or
a signal sucker. Try unpluging things like
tvs computers etc.; then see if problem
things get better. If they do you alo need
some X10 noise filters on the offending
devices.
Logged

poursha

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 77
Re: Some work, most don't
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2006, 01:50:54 PM »

I can concur with Brian's 2nd options.

I HAD a similar problem.  Brand new house
(about 3300 ft2).  I already bought a plug
in coupler (without repeat).

But, I still have one light switch that
seems to ignore signals.  It ignores the
CM15A all the time.  I finally figured out -
by walking from plug to plug with a maxi
controller - that it ignores some outlets,
but works in other outlets.  I tried
turning on the 220V dryer.  Plus, I already
have the coupler.  No good!

Never seriously thought about noise being a
problem.  But, Brian's post triggered
something in my mind, "the TV in the
bedroom".

Went to one of the plugs the DOES NOT work
with the Maxi, and confirmed that it still
does NOT trigger the light.  UNPLUGGED the
TV in the bedroom - same room.  And, BINGO,
the light reacts to all signals.

Gotta get a filter for that TV powerstrip.

Thanks Bri!

Rob
Logged

SteveRF

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 13
  • Posts: 410
Re: Some work, most don't
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2006, 03:20:22 PM »

Rob,
I had a similar problem with an old spare
computer that seems to generate lots of noise.
Even with turned off the unit "ABSORBED" X10
signals and made the system unreliable.  Had
to unplug from wall to eliminate the trouble
without a filter.
SteveRF
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.