Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: IWitness and Motion Sensors  (Read 30341 times)

WinS

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 14
  • Posts: 106
Re: IWitness and Motion Sensors
« Reply #30 on: January 20, 2006, 04:12:29 PM »

John S
Have you checked the activity log to verify
that the sensor is sending a signal? If not,
move it close to the interface and try again.
If it works, what code is it sending?
Logged

WinS

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 14
  • Posts: 106
Re: IWitness and Motion Sensors
« Reply #31 on: January 20, 2006, 04:16:41 PM »

John S
I meant to add that the two options in the
macro are fixed for cam recording - cannot be
changed, as both are required for proper
operation.
Logged

johns

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 6
Re: IWitness and Motion Sensors
« Reply #32 on: January 20, 2006, 10:08:37 PM »

WinS,
I'm close but no cigar. As per your
suggestion I brought the motion sensor close
to the interface. At first it did not work
and then it did.
Thereafter it would work sometimes and
sometimes not. I have yet to get it to work
with the sensor further away from the
interface (as little as 20 ft away).
I have also got error messages from AHP
saying that an error has occured and AHP has
to shut down.
I have changed batteries in both the sensor
and the interface.
I noticed that moving the USB wire around
helped in getting a connection. So I changed
wires, but still had the problem. I think
there must be something wrong with the
interface or the connection.

X10 support has not got back to me since I
called them several times since last week as
including today. So I do appreciate the
suggestions from you and Don.
Curious to know your thoughts.
John S
Logged

anonymous

  • Guest
Re: IWitness and Motion Sensors
« Reply #33 on: January 21, 2006, 06:17:38 PM »

John S
Rf range problems are quite commom.  You may
have to experiment with the location of the
interface, even within the range allowed by
the USB cable.  Also, the receive range of
the interface may be improved by setting the
unit horizontally (ActiveHome sticker facing
down)with the antenna at a 90 degree angle.
Some say this helps.  The distance from the
sensor, how many walls the signal must pass
through, etc., all will affect the outcome.
So I recommend you get things working near
the interface and then move on to where you
would like the sensor and camera to be.
Another thing; multiple triggers of the
sensor within a short period of time could
"upset" the AHP program causing a crash.
Question: When the sensor signal is received
ok, does the macro work and the camera record?
Logged

WinS

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 14
  • Posts: 106
Re: IWitness and Motion Sensors
« Reply #34 on: January 21, 2006, 06:20:16 PM »

The "anonymous" was mine.
Logged

johns

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 6
Re: IWitness and Motion Sensors
« Reply #35 on: January 21, 2006, 11:50:55 PM »

Thanks WinS,

When the signal is received the Macro and
camera does work and it does record.

I will experiment with the distances and
position of the interface. However, I think
the interface or connection to it is the
problem because moving the cable around
seems to work sometimes.
Any way, I'm beginning to think that this
system (wireless) may not be the product for
my needs. The house is about6000 sq ft and
therefore if the wireless tends to be
problematic with distance and going thru
walls I might have to consider wired. Which
most of the house was recently wired for
cameras. I was using x10 wireless for a
quick nanny cam while researching hard wired
cameras and dvr systems.
Thanks again for your help.

JohnS
Logged

daninga

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: IWitness and Motion Sensors
« Reply #36 on: January 24, 2006, 05:21:00 PM »

I've had very similar issues when running
the iWitness plug-in, not only with motion
sensors, but anything that sends or receives
RF signal.  It's almost as if iWitness or
the cameras diminish RF Frequency
strength/reliability or interferes with it.
I ended up getting the RF Repeater/Extender,
which helped significantly, but only when
iWitness is not running.  I'm now back to my
VCR Commander and recording to VHS.  As
antiquated as that may be, it is by far more
reliable than using iWitness.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.