Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Communication Loss: VA11A  (Read 19571 times)

WinS

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 14
  • Posts: 106
Communication Loss: VA11A
« on: April 05, 2005, 03:06:56 PM »

Many times throughout the day I check in with
iWitness only to find that all four cams are
showing splash screen/no image.  Restarting
AHP cures this.  No apparent reason I can put
my finger on.  A security breach would not be
recorded during this period, causing me some
concern since it happens so often.  Of
course, once communication with the VA11A is
lost it is useless until I realize it and fix
it.  Two questions for those in the know:

Why is this happening? (Win XPPro,SP1)

Can this communication be monitored, and when
lost be started unattended? (Like restarting
a process with task manager when it's been idle?)

Thanks for any helpful input.
Logged

X10 Pro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 1416
Re: Communication Loss: VA11A
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2005, 03:55:36 PM »

I'll take a look. We should be able to put
some protections in against this kind of thing.
Logged

nswint

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 4
  • Posts: 49
    • Shiksa
Re: Communication Loss: VA11A
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2005, 06:57:09 PM »

Same thing happens with the XCam2 WideEye
Color.  Restarting AHP doesn't solve the
problem sometimes.  I have to powercycle the
camera to re-establish communications.
It looks like when AHP has it's problem it
takes the camera out.  I have the camera on a
seperate receiver and when I see the logo I
know that the camera is off.  I flip the
channel and I have a bluescreen (that's what
my tv produces when there is no signal)
Logged

WinS

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 14
  • Posts: 106
Re: Communication Loss: VA11A
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2005, 08:13:38 PM »

Thanks Noah, I have experienced that problem
as well, but rarely.  One of the four cams
will show up as a gray screen, but the other
three will function normally with iWitness.
In that case communication with the VA11A is
ok but the offending cam is sending no signal
and must be power cycled.  My setup is
probably different from yours - computer only.
Logged

russ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 15
Re: Communication Loss: VA11A
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2005, 09:28:28 PM »

I have a similar problem how ever I have to
reinstall the software after each time I
close AHP. It then will work again until I
close AHP again. Any thoughts?
Logged

X10 Pro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 1416
Re: Communication Loss: VA11A
« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2005, 12:34:57 PM »

One thing you can try when losing signal from
the VA11A is to close AHP, unplug the VA11A,
plug it back in, then start AHP again. This
will make Windows restart the video
sub-system the VA11A is using, and AHP should
be able to get the signal again.
Logged

nswint

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 4
  • Posts: 49
    • Shiksa
Re: Communication Loss: VA11A
« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2005, 03:20:32 AM »

That's a no go.  I tried over and over and
over again.  Even rebooting.  The only way
for me to regain picture is to walk over and
powercycle the camera
Logged

nswint

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 4
  • Posts: 49
    • Shiksa
Re: Communication Loss: VA11A
« Reply #7 on: April 16, 2005, 03:24:17 AM »

Camera powercycled... wham, theres the picutre.

I left the camera untouched by iWitness for 5
days.  After a few  snapshots and live
video.. there goes the logo and it's not
transmitting to my other receiver that's
connected to my tv.
Logged

WinS

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 14
  • Posts: 106
Re: Communication Loss: VA11A
« Reply #8 on: April 19, 2005, 01:48:44 PM »

I hope X10 is working on this sleeping VA11A
problem.  It happens every day, sometimes
often during the day.  Today I was working in
the yard and triggered motion sensors
multiple times, but when I checked iWitness
for the saved snapshots - there were none.
Zero for the entire day, as the VA11A must
have taken it's siesta early.  Again,
restarting AHP fixed things. When the
iWitness viewer has been left running I will
find a frozen image rather than a splash
screen, and can right click to adjust
resolution and that is enough to get it's
attention. If the viewer has to be opened I
will find all four cams with splash screen
only and AHP must be restarted.  I'm trying
to be specific about this as it's becoming
quite bothersome, and FWIW I did not have
this problem with MultiView.
Logged

X10 Pro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 1416
Re: Communication Loss: VA11A
« Reply #9 on: April 19, 2005, 05:23:54 PM »

There are some changes in the latest update
that will help in some cases, but we'll be
putting in some more protections to keep the
video stream going.
Logged

tony

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 72
Re: Communication Loss: VA11A
« Reply #10 on: April 19, 2005, 07:20:22 PM »

X10 Pro:
The iWitness in the video display window,
unattached in the lower left shows icon that
VA11A is not connected/detected whatever you
know a red circle with a slash.  This is the
very first occurrance.

Also the increment of time on a camera scan
that it pauses per camera doesn't accept
lower than 15 even when directly entered via
KB.  After some messing around I managed to
put it back to 5 seconds.
Logged

tony

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 72
Re: Communication Loss: VA11A
« Reply #11 on: April 19, 2005, 07:22:43 PM »

X10 Pro:  I'm using 3.186  and the video was
working even if the icon said it wasn't
connected (or no video).
Logged

WinS

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 14
  • Posts: 106
Re: Communication Loss: VA11A
« Reply #12 on: April 20, 2005, 12:45:14 PM »

FYI: In my case, the problem still exists.
Last snapshots taken and stored are during
what could be considered normal activity,
ie., motion detected in one location for
about two minutes - about 10 sensor triggers.
I might try flags to limit actual hits and
see if things improve.
Logged

WinS

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 14
  • Posts: 106
Re: Communication Loss: VA11A
« Reply #13 on: June 06, 2005, 01:45:49 PM »

Any progress on this "sleeper"?
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.