Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Camera Signal Interference  (Read 39991 times)

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 51
  • Posts: 2818
Camera Signal Interference
« on: June 27, 2005, 01:26:46 PM »

Anybody have any luck making the X10
wireless cameras work in the same home as a
set of Vtech 2.4 GHz cordless phones? My
attempts were pretty fruitless (the cameras
pick up the signals from the phones, and so
there is too much interference to work
well.) Otherwise, I'm going to have to
return the cameras, as they seem to be a
waste of money if they don't work. (I don't
need two pan-and-tilt paperweights).
Logged

WinS

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 14
  • Posts: 106
Re: Camera Signal Interference
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2005, 03:42:50 PM »

Noam
Have you tried changing the settings on the
camera and the receiver? I have four cams and
a panasonic 2.4Gh portable phone which caused
problems.  After switching the settings
around I found "B" to work best for me - with
little or no interference.  If the phone is
being used, however, all bets are off,
especially if it is near the video receiver.
FYI, settings on Cam are under rubber plug,
and on underside of receiver.
Logged

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 51
  • Posts: 2818
Re: Camera Signal Interference
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2005, 04:36:05 PM »

I did try changing the channels. I didn't
really see too much difference between the 4
channels. However, the manual suggests
checking the phone's manual, and selecting
the frequency farthest from the one the
phone uses.
I have two vtech multi-handset 2.4 GHS dss
phone systems, for a total of 6 handsets and
two bases. That's a lot of signals bouncing
around my house.
I want to have the camera upstairs, and the
receiver downstairs. I unplugged one of the
phone bases (the one downstairs), and the
signal cleared up. I think there is
something a little flaky about that phone,
anyway.
Logged

mike

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: Camera Signal Interference
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2005, 12:21:36 AM »

I have found that any 2.4Ghz phone will
seriously distort X10 video and audio!
I got rid of mine and went with 900Mhz
phones.  Do the same you will not be happy
until you do.
Logged

billy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 42
Re: Camera Signal Interference
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2005, 03:58:01 PM »

I find that my wireless router &  microwave
oven, also causes problems with the camera
signals.
Logged

mike

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: Camera Signal Interference
« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2005, 01:50:53 PM »

Billy,  Microwave's will,  your wireless
router can be fixed.  On your wireless
router change the channel it is
transmitting on until both work properly.
I changed my wireless router to CH. 8 and
that helped alot.
Logged

geekasaurus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 13
Re: Camera Signal Interference
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2005, 10:00:54 PM »

Don't let your cameras be a paperweight,
spend $10 and get a 900mhz phone, thats what
I did. I have three computers connecting to a
wireless router and that dosen't seem to
affect things. A microwave will really trash
the signal!
Logged

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 51
  • Posts: 2818
Re: Camera Signal Interference
« Reply #7 on: August 04, 2005, 12:58:13 PM »

I replaced my 2.4 GHz phones (which were
starting to act up - the buttons were
becoming unresponsive) with new 5.8 GHz
phones. No camera intereference (except when
the Microwave is running), and better
phones, to boot!
Logged

ohmarty

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 9
Re: Camera Signal Interference
« Reply #8 on: October 27, 2005, 09:38:19 AM »

My neighbor's phones and microwaves interfer
with my cameras. Any help?
Logged

paul mayfield

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 23
Re: Camera Signal Interference
« Reply #9 on: December 04, 2005, 02:02:56 PM »

I am interested in adding cameras however am
a bit leary as they operate at 2.4 Ghz. I
have two wireless routers and had to trash
my 2.4 Ghz phone system that was only a year
old for a new 5.8 Ghz system. I had tried
all kinds of channel changes on the routers
to no avail. I don't want to invest in
cameras if they are going to interfere with
the routers.
Logged

bronco

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 63
Re: Camera Signal Interference
« Reply #10 on: April 25, 2006, 11:06:46 AM »

I have two x10 camera's that are near each other and thus interfer with each other
I use a macro to cut the power to the camera and receiver(one requires an appliance module).   I assume you tried all four codes (a,b,c,d) settings on the cameras and receivers.
Also, are there any other channels you can select on the phones or have them scan for a clearer channel.
Logged

mike

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 14
  • Posts: 1057
Re: Camera Signal Interference
« Reply #11 on: June 25, 2006, 08:37:09 AM »

My high power computer router freq change to one extreme of 2.5gh band and cameras on the other extreme elimiated my interference betix them.

I added a cute little 2.4ghz amplifier to one and it transmits thru the woods to the receiver about 1000 feet away!  cool thing.  regular ones w/o the amp only work about 50 feet - pretty crappy.
Logged

tybirdtybird

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 128
Re: Camera Signal Interference
« Reply #12 on: March 19, 2011, 10:47:32 AM »

Thank you it worked for me. My wifi went when i plug in the cameras. I change the channel it works great. Now my baby monitor stop working. So I'm going to try and change the channel again to find the right one.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.