Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Input for home security  (Read 19983 times)

jerry

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Input for home security
« on: November 15, 2004, 04:10:06 AM »

Hello All

I'm looking for any input on the
Protector Plus system or any brands for
that matter. Just moved in to a new house
and will be putting in some sort of wirless
security sysmt soon. The x10 prices seem
great but do they sell quality products ??

Thnaks for any information.

Jerry
Logged

Teece

  • Guest
Re: Input for home security
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2004, 09:59:17 AM »

I had the same questions before I
purchased the Protector Plus system,
there seemed to be little
information/reviews about the system out
there. I decided I would just go for it and
return it if it didn't meet my standards. I've
had the system for a few months and it
does it's job well. No problems at all. I've
even expanded the system to protect the
whole house instead of  just the
downstairs. The only thing I don't like
about the system is that you can shut off
the alarm at the base with out a pass
code. If someone broke in, they could find
the base (or remote) and shut off the
alarm. Considering the cost, you really
can't beat it. ADT gave me a quote of
$1500 to do half of what I've done for
around $200.
Logged

joel

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 45
Re: Input for home security
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2004, 06:03:21 AM »

Yeah I thought it was a little cheap, but
when I recieved my order in the mail, I
couldn't believe the quality. The stuff is
excellent, and the fact that it's cheap is
even better. I definietly reccomend this
stuff. You have 30 days to return it if
you're not happy, anyway!
Logged

jim

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 12
Re: Input for home security
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2004, 05:37:54 PM »

This is a re-post from a reply I gave someone
else:

System works fine for a $100 starter system.
smarthome.com has a wireless system ( 73902 )
that has a few more bells and wistles, but
your going to spend $250 for the starter kit.
The features the 73902 has that I like is
being able to arm/disarm via a phone call,
plus its supposed to be good for up to 600ft
range with the sensors, opposed to the " 100
ft " the X-10 system allows ( 100ft line of
site. Considerably less going through walls
). X-10 is a 16 zone and the 72903 is a 30
zone. 72903 also has a 2 way  voice system
and optional smoke alarm.

I spent $219 and got:
DS7000 7 piece system
Plus:
3 key chain remotes
1 motion detectors
6 door/window sensors
3 Large Powerhorns
2 Security decals ( big deal )
4 year replacement warranty ( supposed to be
no questions asked replacement, cost was
$39.99 )
Then I took the $22 in X10 bucks they gave me
after the initial purchase, and got the wall
mount ( $10 ) and an extra lamp modual (
$12.99 ). Cost me $5.90 for shipping and .99
cents for the 2 items.

To buy the same in the 72903, I would have
spent $850 ( going by thier advertised
prices. So less bells and wistles with the
X-10 system, but saved me $600.00

X-10 runs deals all the time. Make sure you
get a system while on sale. Mine consisted of
getting 3 for the price of one for the
remotes, sirens and door switches. The Basic
7 piece system also included a bonus of 3
switches, 1 motion detector and 2 decals ( I
think it was )for the $99. If the sales
person you call cant do you a great deal, ask
to speak to the home office sales. Thats how
I got the better deal ( the 3 for one prices ).
Also, do a search on Ebay for " X-10 ". Price
your items out there also. Some great deals
on ebay from X-10 dealers. I didnt go with
ebay becuase I also wanted the 4 year
warranty. Our family is kind of rough on
remotes, so I figured in 4 years we would get
close to what we paid for the extended
warranty, just on remote replacements. If
anything else went kaput, we'd be ahead of
the game.

Hope this helps....
Jim..
Logged

jerry

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: Input for home security
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2004, 10:39:59 PM »

Thanks for the help I thing I'll give x10
a shot. Thanks for the reply's

Jerry
Logged

gus

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: Input for home security
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2005, 12:51:55 AM »

Is there a keypad remote to disarm system
from outside, so I don't have to always carry
keychain remotes?
Logged

zach1234

  • Guest
Re: Input for home security
« Reply #6 on: June 24, 2008, 01:40:13 PM »

No, but for me there is.  :)%

Made it myself.
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: Input for home security
« Reply #7 on: June 24, 2008, 04:02:54 PM »

Do you realize you replied to a THREE YEAR OLD Thread? 

Is that the Necropost of the year?
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: Input for home security
« Reply #8 on: June 24, 2008, 04:22:54 PM »

Do you realize you replied to a THREE YEAR OLD Thread?...
...and that the original person that started the topic hasn't posted anything since November 15, 2004.
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

Jimmer

  • Guest
Re: Input for home security
« Reply #9 on: June 25, 2008, 10:49:07 AM »

But it is good to know :)
Logged

zach1234

  • Guest
Re: Input for home security
« Reply #10 on: June 25, 2008, 10:59:14 AM »

Some here just go phyco when someone makes a goof.  ::) :'
Logged

Puck

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 171
  • Posts: 1799
Re: Input for home security
« Reply #11 on: June 25, 2008, 02:26:48 PM »

But it is good to know :)

Please explain what part of the thread is good to know... I prefer not to guess and I'm not sure what part you are referring to. Thanks.
Logged

Jimmer

  • Guest
Re: Input for home security
« Reply #12 on: June 25, 2008, 02:53:16 PM »

No, but for me there is.  :)%

Made it myself.
ask him how he made it.
Logged

zach1234

  • Guest
Re: Input for home security
« Reply #13 on: June 25, 2008, 05:25:29 PM »

Do you realize you replied to a THREE YEAR OLD Thread?

Is that the Necropost of the year?

Ok your searching looking for that information and poof you find it and there is no reply. That night you have nightmares , is there a keypad. Gosh what up!!!
Logged

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 62
  • Posts: 1748
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: Input for home security
« Reply #14 on: June 25, 2008, 08:44:37 PM »


Quote

Ok your searching looking for that information and poof you find it and there is no reply. That night you have nightmares , is there a keypad. Gosh what up!!!
Quote

Sorry, my babblefish could not translate. Please post in English.

BTW, HOW did you make the keypad.  Posting such a project would gain you some credibility here.
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!
Pages: [1] 2 3
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.