Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Web-Based Activehome  (Read 7276 times)

bmc

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Web-Based Activehome
« on: November 29, 2004, 08:11:10 PM »

It would be great if X-10 could create a web-based AH.
The AH interface could run on on the box and connect to
your network via 802.11b/g or an ethernet port.
(ex. all linksys routers)
Logged

bmc

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: Web-Based Activehome
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2004, 08:12:48 PM »

This would also ensure compatibility with all operating
systems.
Logged

peter harrison

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 8
Re: Web-Based Activehome
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2004, 01:56:39 AM »

I've been thinking about that very thing
lately, and just downloaded the SDK
(Software Development Kit) to see what can
be done. My Netgear wireless router (a
WGT634U) is actually a rather limited LINUX
server that supports both a router function
and multiple USB-based hard drives. With a
little innovative programming I might be
able to write a LINUX module that allows
local users to access the CM15A. My little
router doesn't have a whole lot of memory
to work with, but its already set up to
mount an external hard drive where CM15A
configuration files can be stored, and the
router comes with a built-in Web server
with password-controlled access and a CGI
support engine of some sort that allow you
to configure the router over the LAN. That
sounds like a good starting base for a
basic control and configuration engine for
the CM15A.

--Peter
Logged

westshore

  • Guest
Re: Web-Based Activehome
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2004, 11:36:08 AM »

Connecting to CM15A via LAN/WLAN with
webbased control would be a giant leap
forward!
Logged

donald mcmow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 306
Re: Web-Based Activehome
« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2004, 12:01:08 PM »

I thought someting like this was in the
plans? Or was X10 or someone else wishing
for that as well? (Maybe not the other OS
thing but having web access I think was
thought off)
Logged

X10 Pro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 1416
Re: Web-Based Activehome
« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2004, 01:01:18 PM »

We have plans for a Internet/network control
software plug-in. There are no plans for
network control integrated into the hardware
at this point.

You can use the Perl or PHP examples in the
SDK to create your own network controlled
interface to the CM15A pretty easily.
Logged

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: Web-Based Activehome
« Reply #6 on: December 03, 2004, 01:36:17 PM »

"...There are no plans for network control
integrated into the hardware at this point."

Does this mean the computer would have to
stay ON?

If answer = "NO",  then "Yeah!"
If answer = "YES", then ":("

If any of you programmers with your SDKs
out there find a way to connect to a
router, please let us know! I'm not really
interested in leaving my computer on 24/7
just to control AHP.

What I really would like to have is a have
is a hardware device that would answer a
selectable distinctive ring and give me
control over all 256 codes or at the very
least all the codes for one "House code".
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.