Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: AHP with Windows Vista  (Read 18936 times)

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
AHP with Windows Vista
« on: May 06, 2006, 11:14:16 AM »

Is AHP is being tested to work with Windows Vista?
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: AHP with Windows Vista
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2006, 11:38:09 PM »

Still wondering...
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
  • Posts: 13263
Re: AHP with Windows Vista
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2006, 06:46:18 AM »

I doubt X10 has even seen a beta of Vista yet.
Also it is nor scheduled for release in early 2007.
A better question maybe will you computer run Vista. I have seen beta reviews and for good performance it has some hefty needs.
Logged

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: AHP with Windows Vista
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2006, 09:27:15 AM »

I doubt X10 has even seen a beta of Vista yet.
Also it is nor scheduled for release in early 2007....
While X10 may not have a copy yet, I thought prehaps someone out with there with AHP might be beta testing it. Also I kinda was hoping for a comment from them saying that they weren't expecting any problems.

...A better question maybe will you computer run Vista. I have seen beta reviews and for good performance it has some hefty needs.
I'm thinking of purchasing a new laptop next year and am trying to anticipate update challenges.

Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: AHP with Windows Vista
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2006, 09:51:56 AM »

My guess is AHP will work under Vista.

I still have programs written for Win95 that run fine under XP Home. Microsoft does realize that there's a lot of software for 9X and DOS still in use, so every O/S they have produced has had a lot of "backward compatabilty" built in.

BTW, the 2007 date is still a guess. Depending on when you buy you new laptop, it might still come with XP.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: AHP with Windows Vista
« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2006, 12:33:33 AM »

...BTW, the 2007 date is still a guess. Depending on when you buy you new laptop, it might still come with XP.
Yeah they still haven't decided what the minimum requirements will be for it. I plan to wait till at least a few months after Vista comes out before I make a new computer purchase.
I might on the other hand consider a striped down minimum configuration unit as a dedicated computer for AHP that I could reboot remotely if it looked up. It would have to be dirt cheap for me to do it, however.
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

Tony Olson

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 39
Re: AHP with Windows Vista
« Reply #6 on: June 30, 2006, 05:01:07 PM »

I've been testing/playing with the Vista Beta released to the public and I merely tried plugging in my AHP controller to my USB port and Vista tries to find drivers for it. I had no luck with that and didn't persue the issue. Beta and bugs are synonymous  ::) Vista is different (looking) from WIN XP and will involve a learning curve to get used to it. Of course that pertains to me not necessarily the rest of the populace  :). Don't try to run your production (good stuff) AHP under Vista because you may lose everything.

Tony
Logged
Tony

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: AHP with Windows Vista
« Reply #7 on: June 30, 2006, 05:41:00 PM »

You might PM X10Pro.

X10 has a driver available for Vista, I've seen the message here, but I don't remember where. I presume it would work in the Beta of Vista.

I'm sure if you PM him, he will repond.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

Tony Olson

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 39
Re: AHP with Windows Vista
« Reply #8 on: June 30, 2006, 05:46:52 PM »

Thanks Dan. I'll do that.
Logged
Tony
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.