Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: problem upgrade to 3.228 from 3.204  (Read 25860 times)

Akasonny

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 12
Re: problem upgrade to 3.228 from 3.204
« Reply #15 on: May 25, 2008, 04:11:05 PM »



So don't use it!!!   Mine does the same thing, and I've never bothered with it, either with 3.204 or 3.228.
Quote

Well there's an enlightened ideology!
Logged

jipe63

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 6
Re: problem upgrade to 3.228 from 3.204
« Reply #16 on: June 01, 2008, 02:10:38 AM »

Hello,
I buy my CM15 with activehome pro in France. I want to upgrade it to 3.228, how i can do, because I don't have the upgrade command in help menu  :(
Thank
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 279
  • Posts: 10398
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: problem upgrade to 3.228 from 3.204
« Reply #17 on: June 01, 2008, 08:45:17 AM »

jipe63 If your using the ActiveHome Pro EU version I'm not sure the upgrade will work for you it may infact corrupt your AHX file (not a big deal if that's all it corrupts) :'
X10 use to keep the upgrade files that could be downloaded directly and named for easy identification!
There is a update file in this location however it is still the update file for 3.204! :'(
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

beelocks

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 9
  • Posts: 250
Re: problem upgrade to 3.228 from 3.204
« Reply #18 on: November 07, 2009, 10:10:54 PM »

problem solved....if you will look in your user account/local settings/temp folder you will find a folder called x10updates.......just execute the patch in there and wah la......now to see if it still works ! :)

Suffered a horrendous system failure yesterday. I installed the 'latest version' of AHP and downgraded to 3.204, attempts to upgrade to 3.228 resulted in AHP closing down with no error messages and no updates.

Searched the forum and found this thread - disabling anti-virus, anti-spyware and everything else had no effect. Seached for the X10updates folder and it's not there. It turns out that the X10updates folder is hidden - just change your search options to make that you're lookin for hiiden folders an you'll find it.

The patch for updating worked perfectly. Wah La indeedy :) Thanks TinMan
Logged
Although my explanations may not be exactly clear, I do hope for slightly less cloudy.

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 301
  • Posts: 13105
Re: problem upgrade to 3.228 from 3.204
« Reply #19 on: November 08, 2009, 10:31:47 AM »

That is the way I had to do it also. 3.204 found the Update but when run just shutdown AHP with no update.
Found the file and ran it separately and now I also have 3.228  ;D
Logged

eagle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 187
Re: problem upgrade to 3.228 from 3.204
« Reply #20 on: December 10, 2009, 10:19:31 AM »

Brian,

When you click on the Update button, what exactly happens?  Do you see a window showing the download incrementing to 100%? 

Or nothing at all shows up and then it closes AHP?

When you say you found the file, are you saying you found a .exe file in your PC?  How did you know to do that?  Was it labeled ahp_updt_228.exe or something?

Ready to pull the trigger but I want to make sure I can get .228.

---------
Wait....  per beelocks' post above:

Searched the forum and found this thread - disabling anti-virus, anti-spyware and everything else had no effect. Seached for the X10updates folder and it's not there. It turns out that the X10updates folder is hidden - just change your search options to make that you're lookin for hiiden folders an you'll find it.
-------

So, I guess this is the way to do it. 

I think I'll order AHP first to see if this method works.  I've downloaded the V 2.204 update file and installed it but since it is not registered yet, I take it the X10updates folder was not created.  I have all hidden files and folders set to Show and that X10updates folder isn't there.

Thanks,
eagle
« Last Edit: December 10, 2009, 10:29:19 AM by eagle »
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7126
Re: problem upgrade to 3.228 from 3.204
« Reply #21 on: December 10, 2009, 12:32:41 PM »

Ready to pull the trigger but I want to make sure I can get .228.
So, I guess this is the way to do it. 
I think I'll order AHP first to see if this method works.  I've downloaded the V 2.204 update file and installed it but since it is not registered yet, I take it the X10updates folder was not created.  I have all hidden files and folders set to Show and that X10updates folder isn't there.

I can't believe you haven't even ordered AHP yet. Just jump in there guy! there are already thousands of users.
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 301
  • Posts: 13105
Re: problem upgrade to 3.228 from 3.204
« Reply #22 on: December 10, 2009, 01:51:23 PM »

I went back to 208 so I could document the process as the file in the X10Update folder was gone. I may have wiped it out with a disk cleanup.  ::) Did I back it up for future use?  :P

No when I click on the Update Available tab in AHP with 3.204 running. It downloaded a small loader program and then AHP closed. Nothing else happened.

In the X10Update folder was a single file ahp_updt.exe. Ran the file. Then a message box that the X10 background programs had to be stopped and a confirmation box from me OK. Then it went back on line and downloaded the 3.228 files and installed them.
« Last Edit: December 10, 2009, 01:52:57 PM by Brian H »
Logged

eagle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 187
Re: problem upgrade to 3.228 from 3.204
« Reply #23 on: December 10, 2009, 01:58:02 PM »

Thanks Brian.

"YOU DA MAN!"  as the hip hop young ones would say.  :)

I actually had decided to order it later today just for the purposes of conducting the very test you just did. 

So, a super thank you and  >!

I'll give you guys some feedback later today when I install it on my home computer.

r,
eagle   

Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 301
  • Posts: 13105
Re: problem upgrade to 3.228 from 3.204
« Reply #24 on: December 10, 2009, 02:04:15 PM »

Glad it helped.
Will be waiting for your findings report.
Logged

beelocks

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 9
  • Posts: 250
Re: problem upgrade to 3.228 from 3.204
« Reply #25 on: December 10, 2009, 11:25:09 PM »

Make sure you remember to look in hidden folders or you'll end up almost as crazy as I did.
Logged
Although my explanations may not be exactly clear, I do hope for slightly less cloudy.

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 301
  • Posts: 13105
Re: problem upgrade to 3.228 from 3.204
« Reply #26 on: December 11, 2009, 06:27:50 AM »

Yes it is in a hidden folder. Since I changed the folder options in XP. I always saw the files. Most may not.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.