Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: New home construction with more than 16 zones  (Read 5073 times)

teamneon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
New home construction with more than 16 zones
« on: January 20, 2011, 12:22:11 PM »

I currently have a decent collection of x10 stuff, activehome, wall switches, cameras etc.

Im building a new home and was considering the DS7000 security system but its limited (like most wireless systems) to 16 zones.
We want window/door sensors on everything and dont want to resort to using motion detectors for large window areas.

I really wanted to tie everything together but im now leaning toward a non-monitored hardwired system.
Basically I would still use x10 for automation and even login and see cameras if i get a security system call.

Any recommendations? Is there a system that would tie into the active home system?
Logged

JeffVolp

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 121
  • Posts: 2283
    • XTB Home Page
Re: New home construction with more than 16 zones
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2011, 01:38:15 PM »


If you are building a new home and have open access to the walls, then I would definitely recommend a wired system.  It just works year after year without having to worry about batteries or any other wireless issues.  I went with DSC, but there are a lot of other systems out there.

Jeff
Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: New home construction with more than 16 zones
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2011, 09:59:03 PM »

I too would suggest DSC.

We use them at work and they're a really decent system at a decent price.

They can go up to 64 wireless zones and have interface modules for connecting to X10 and computers and such.

The base panel is 6 to 8 hardwired zones and can be expanded with add-on modules.

They have some really nifty wireless devices too.
 >!
« Last Edit: January 20, 2011, 10:01:36 PM by -Bill- (of wgjohns.com) »
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

dwp

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 9
  • Posts: 66
    • Facebook
Re: New home construction with more than 16 zones
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2011, 10:30:35 PM »

you know you can add 2 or 3 magnet sets to 1 sensor run them in sequence. it shows it on the box

if you have 2 or 3 windows next to each other !!
« Last Edit: January 20, 2011, 10:32:23 PM by dwp »
Logged

lviper

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 10
  • Posts: 294
Re: New home construction with more than 16 zones
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2011, 09:29:24 AM »

In my unfinished basement I have 6 windows on each side. So I wired 6 magnetic switches in series to one ds10a for 1 zone. The other 6 are another zone. In hind-sight, I probably could have wired all 12 windows and saved a zone but I don't need all the zones so I left it alone.

So maybe you can wire all the doors and/or windows in one room in series and connect to one ds10a and each room can be a zone. At the same time, you can probably wire all the doors and windows to a central location and tap into the ds10a's there. Not only does that make it easy to change batteries and would help with any range issues, but if you ever decided to go with a wired/monitored alarm system, the hard part is done.
Logged

teamneon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: New home construction with more than 16 zones
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2011, 11:02:58 AM »

ya i didnt think about maybe wiring the whole place to my media center (under the stairs closet is a media closet now) and using the x10 ds10a's all in the closet?
Or since im hardwiring anyways, maybe just go with the hardwired panel system too. Is the ademco 10p decent?
Logged

spam4us

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 152
Re: New home construction with more than 16 zones
« Reply #6 on: January 28, 2011, 04:08:13 PM »

you can have up tp 256 x10 zones with this setup.  See page 2 of the post.

http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=13487.15

Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.