Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Using PC/DVR To Capture Motion Activated Video  (Read 6576 times)

jb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Using PC/DVR To Capture Motion Activated Video
« on: February 09, 2005, 04:42:46 PM »

Ok, I'm interested in capturing motion
activated video (over wireless X10) to my
PC or DVR, not VCR (I don't even own on
anymore!). =)

My PC at a ATI All In Wonder 8500 DV, which
takes S-Video In for capture.

My DVR is a Scientific Atlanta 8300HD
(Digital Cable DVR + HD).

I am going to be reading the DVR manual,
but if anyone has done this with a DVR I
would love to know how. On the PC, I assume
as long as I can get the video signal in, I
can capture it. But what about using the
motion detecting recording feature. Is
there PC software that mimics a VCR (it
receives a record signal, records, then
stops on the stop signal)?

I guess the bottom line is I am going to
record on a digital device, either DVR or
PC, with 4 wireless X10's (2 front nd 2
back), activated by 2 motion sensors (one
front, one back). Since I'll be using 4
cams I hope to encapsulate this all into a
multiview with good resolution.

Any advice would be great to save me some
time.
Logged

ravenseternity

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: Using PC/DVR To Capture Motion Activated Video
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2005, 09:39:27 PM »

get the vcr commander II and program it the
same way you do a vcr as long as the record
sequence doesnt take multiple commands it
should work for fine this is just
theoretically as far as recoding on pc im
still figureing that one i can record using
power producer pro right to dvd but its a
manual process since the comp has no IR
reciever and even if it did to program a
script for it to open and start recoding
would be a nightmare but could probably be
done i have a audigy2 soundcard that
inadvertantly picks up ir signals from my
tv remote and well you could program that
to start the script to open power producer
and start recording once again
theoretically power producer also allows
timed recodrings so i canset it up to
record while im away etc. but for now i use
a cheap vcr and the vcr commander works
fine for security purposes
Logged

tony

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 72
Re: Using PC/DVR To Capture Motion Activated Video
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2005, 04:01:18 AM »

At 310 TV lines and MULTI-SECOND switching
Good Luck
Logged

paul

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 29
Re: Using PC/DVR To Capture Motion Activated Video
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2005, 12:09:00 AM »

Hi JB,

You need to purchase a DVR card for your PC
which has built in software to detect
motion through the cam itself and then
starts to record.  What I have read sounds
much better than any X10 system.
Logged

frowny

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 32
Re: Using PC/DVR To Capture Motion Activated Video
« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2005, 08:53:44 AM »

3 of 3
These cards come in different resolution
and frame-rate qualities, each costing
more.  If you do buy a PVR card, you will
probably have to disable your ATI
ALL_IN_Wonder "capture" function because
there will probably be a driver conflict
between the DVR card and the video card.

As I mentioned in another forum, x10
cameras have some inherant problems if you
use them 24/7.  I hard wired an old
computer AT power supply 12 Volt source to
run all the cameras from a central location
at the PC.  Then I used a timer to turn off
the cameras and allow the cameras to cool
off for several hours each night.  I threw
the junk X10 power suppies away.  The
cameras that were not "wired cameras", I
converted from RF to wired.  I think the
camera heads are ok, but the RF
transmitters are not capable of what X10
claims.  And the power supplies are
unreliable as stated above.
Logged

frowny

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 32
Re: Using PC/DVR To Capture Motion Activated Video
« Reply #5 on: September 23, 2005, 08:54:16 AM »

2 of 3
The newer software has a pre-record
function.  What this does is record a
steady stream of images for a time you
chose (30 seconds for example).  This image
is erased if no motion is detected.  If
motion is detected, then the MPG recording
is saved to disk starting 30 seconds before
motion was detected.  Sounds complicated
but it is not.  If you use PIR (Passive
Infra Red) sensors like X10, you may have
to use a relay or SSR to translate signals
to the card.  But do not fret if you are
not an engineer, the camera-motion-sensor
function works very well on its own without
PIR sensors.  Be aware that if you use a
Ninja PTZ base, the motion of the camera
will constantly trigger recording on the
computer.  You will then need a PIR sensor
to record motion-only.
Logged

frowny

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 32
Re: Using PC/DVR To Capture Motion Activated Video
« Reply #6 on: September 23, 2005, 08:54:47 AM »

1 of 3
I agree.  You can buy DVR cards for less
than US$100  which offer 4 NTSC or PAL
composite inputs. You can combine multiple
cards to 8, 12, 16, and 32 camera inputs.
Each card comes with its own drivers and
software.  Most of the software has motion-
detection features which compare frames
from a camera and searches for movement in
the camera image.  The recorded images are
recorded to your hard drive as AVI or MPG
files.  Make sure you use a second hard
drive and not your primary HDD since the
drive will be running constantly and will
wear out from time to time.  If it does
wear out, your main HDD will not be lost.

The DVR cards that were coming from Taiwan
had exceptional software capabilities.
However, now the China-sourced
card/software is inferior, but useable.
These newer cards do have an input
connection which you can connect external
PIR sensors to.  That gives you a choice to
use PIR, Timer or Camera-Motion as the
trigger for recording.
Logged

frowny

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 32
Re: Using PC/DVR To Capture Motion Activated Video
« Reply #7 on: September 23, 2005, 09:04:31 AM »

Oh yeah, if the stand-alone DVR that you
already own is a DVD recorder, the startup
time for the DVD-Recorder will take too
long to record anything reasonably quick.
By the time the unit comes on and records,
the source of motion will be long gone.
Logged

frowny

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 32
Re: Using PC/DVR To Capture Motion Activated Video
« Reply #8 on: September 23, 2005, 09:09:51 AM »

Frankly, I don't know why X10 doesn't offer
DVR cards as part of their product line.
Maybe it is too complicated for their
typical customer?
Logged

Jim Turner

  • Guest
Re: Using PC/DVR To Capture Motion Activated Video
« Reply #9 on: September 25, 2005, 11:57:58 PM »

Wow, some usefull information!  Where did
you buy your dvr card?  Will it work on any
kind of PC(Athlon CPU)? Are x10 cameras
compatible with the dvr card? I have other
cameras with RCA connectors, would they
work with a dvr card?  Thanks.
Logged

paul

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 29
Re: Using PC/DVR To Capture Motion Activated Video
« Reply #10 on: October 01, 2005, 10:31:15 AM »

Jim,

X10 cameras do work
Card can be purchased on Ebay
Works with various windows xp and some
lower versions
You can but adapters for different
connections
Ebay tells you all the specs and functions
Logged

frowny

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 32
Re: Using PC/DVR To Capture Motion Activated Video
« Reply #11 on: October 01, 2005, 11:58:37 PM »

I bought my first cards several years ago
when they were rare.  Now they are very
commonplace. As Paul said, do a search on
ebay for "DVR Card" and you will see
countless suppliers.   Make sure the card
comes with drivers and VDR SOFTWARE.  Make
sure your computer OS is compatible and
that you meet the minimum requirements.  If
the card has BNC connectors and you have
RCA camera cables, you can get the adapters
pretty cheap, if they aren't included with
the card.  
Logged

phonebone

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: Using PC/DVR To Capture Motion Activated Video
« Reply #12 on: October 11, 2005, 02:11:13 AM »

I use an old ReplayTV DVR to capture the
video for later review.  It works great, I
can zip through it at 20x speed and stop
when something interesting appears.

What I can't do yet is have it switch
between cameras automatically, I pick one
camera and let it rip.  Switching cameras is
a future project, I just installed the
system this week.  
Logged

frustrated

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: Using PC/DVR To Capture Motion Activated Video
« Reply #13 on: October 11, 2005, 09:41:06 AM »

I have brought a couple of these DVR cards
of Ebay, they geberally come with pirated
software, thats ok I have my own anyway.
The issue I have is trying to find the
right drivers for the cards (All Fusion
878a chipsets). I have long thrown out the
burnt CD's that came with them and I just
can't seem to get the things going with
what drivers are available out there
(mainly for TV Tuners). Any thoughts?
Logged

frowny

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 32
Re: Using PC/DVR To Capture Motion Activated Video
« Reply #14 on: October 14, 2005, 09:47:56 AM »

Yes, ebay is a risky proposition...kinda
like x10.  There are many other suppliers
out there.  I won't endorse any particular
one, so you will know I have no vested
interest or hidden agenda.  
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.