Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: Repetitive trouble alarm question  (Read 26634 times)

bruce b.

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: Repetitive trouble alarm question
« Reply #15 on: April 01, 2005, 03:10:56 AM »

I'm having the same "5 beeps every hour" problem with
sensors randomly losing connections despite the test
button and manual triggering functioning normally. This
is highly irritating. I am thinking of returning the
products.

I've already tried moving the base console closer to the
sensors and have reset the whole darn thing nine times
already in just two days... I haven't been getting any sleep
with this blasted thing chiming all the time.
Logged

j

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 43
Re: Repetitive trouble alarm question
« Reply #16 on: April 01, 2005, 07:15:46 AM »

bruce b

try this

it maybe due to one of your door contacts
are spaced to far apart. check them and you
might have to put them close together.
then reset the whole system. put in a new
battery. and see what happens.
Logged

bruce b.

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: Repetitive trouble alarm question
« Reply #17 on: April 06, 2005, 10:07:52 PM »

I tried replacing the batteries, checked the distance
between contacts (they are touching arrow to arrow)
resetting the system again, re-stripping the wires that
connect to the magnetic contact switches, etc. I am still
getting the slow blinking trouble lights and 5 beeps on
the window sensors. The motion detectors work fine. On
"run 2" all window sensors chime as they should, but the
blinking lights don't go away on the console.
Logged

j

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 43
Re: Repetitive trouble alarm question
« Reply #18 on: April 07, 2005, 12:45:38 PM »

switch the censors over to door contact.then
hit the little white button maybe that will
help but you have to do the total reset
again. if it don't
Logged

bruce b.

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: Repetitive trouble alarm question
« Reply #19 on: April 08, 2005, 11:47:42 AM »

Switching the sensor to "door" doesn't help... the sensors
are not being tripped, they appear to be randomly losing
contact with the console or are otherwise malfunctioning
since the "trouble alert" keeps appearing. There is no way
to aleviate the trouble alert unless I reset the entire
system, but then the "trouble alert" will reappear within
minutes... always afflicting a random set of door/window
sensors, but never the motion sensors. Otherwise, the
sensor behave normally, flashing with the test light and
chiming in "run 2" mode. However, with the sensors in
"trouble alert" mode, I cannot arm the system unless those
sensors are bypassed. I have requested an RMA and have
yet to receive a response. These door/window sensors are
very unreliable. I have requested to exchange them for the
motion sensors which are working fine for me. No
response via email, online "chat" just provides me with
email and phone number. Very dissapointed with support
and product quality so far. Be warned.
Logged

mark

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 25
Re: Repetitive trouble alarm question
« Reply #20 on: April 09, 2005, 10:09:55 AM »

I've managed to solve this problem by using
fresh alkaline batteries.  Initially I was
using Nickel Metal batteries.  I've been
using the alarm for 3 months now and so far
no problems.
Logged

bruce b.

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: Repetitive trouble alarm question
« Reply #21 on: April 21, 2005, 08:41:24 AM »

I tried fresh alkaline Duracell's... still no go. I am returning
the 5 window/door sensors in exchange for 2 motion
sensors. I've had no problems with the motion sensors.
Logged

mmmmiiiicccc

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: Repetitive trouble alarm question
« Reply #22 on: April 22, 2005, 08:27:05 PM »

I take it this isn't something that is going
to go away anytime soon? Has anyone left
this for 48 hours of regular unarmed use and
had the troubled zone clear after replacing
the batteries?

It's obvious the D/W Sensors are still
communicating with the console otherwise we
wouldn't be hearing it beep on run2 when
opening the door/window zone in question.
It just keeps on blinking slow and steady
making its chirp every hour.

You mean to tell me there is simply no other
alternative? We have no course of action to
take but to re-install the system when this
bug rears its head?

Is this a bug in the console? Sure sounds
like it butÖ Iíll %$#& pink elephants if we
get a confession from X10 and instructions
on what to do about it.

Why isnít it in the Security FAQ? Iíll tell
ya whyÖbecause if it were they would be
obligated to pull their product and honor
hundreds of returns.

I have never known a company in my life that
gets away with so much horse crap.  It
simply staggers the imagination.
Logged

robert bullard

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: Repetitive trouble alarm question
« Reply #23 on: May 03, 2005, 09:16:12 AM »

I have had my DS7000 in place and
functional for over 6years with door
sensors and motion sensors with no problem
until just this week.  The only change I
have done in my home is that I have added a
power strip with surge protection and added
a new PC with a larger monitor.  I have
other PCs in house and have a large screen
TV and 5.8GHz phone all running and have
had no problems until just after installing
the new PC/monitor and surge suppressor
strip. I am getting the
constant "beeping/dingin" from the PS561.
I have deleted all sensors and re-installed
them, replaced all batteries in all units,
and moved the controller with no success.
Sometimes it runs for 4 or 5 hrs then
starts the same problem.  Sometimes I can
re-install all of my sensors and then have
the problem stay away for several hours and
at other times I can only get up to 3
installed before the problem resurfaces.  I
am looking in to the fact that I have a
degraded signal and or added noise on my AC
lines because of the added surge supressor
and or PC and monitor.  I am looking to
install a coupler/repeater to bridge both
sides of the AC lines and re-transmit/boost
the X10 signal as well as get either a plug-
in noise filter for the recent
PC/monitor/surge protector I have added or
go all the way and install a whole house
surge protector and scrap the local power
strips with surge suppressors in them.  Has
anyone tried filters/surge
suppressors/repeater to correct the problem
or have these items already in place in
their homes and still have the same problem?

Bob Bullard
Ottawa
Canada
Logged

j

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 43
Re: Repetitive trouble alarm question
« Reply #24 on: May 03, 2005, 12:42:10 PM »

i sent mine back and they sent me a new
console. and after three days it started
again.
i played around with it and did it all over
again.
and found out that it was my door censor.
that caused the problem. i had to move the
contacts closer together put the console on
install again and hit the button on the d/w
censor and then it stopped.
Logged

kyle mcdermott

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: Repetitive trouble alarm question
« Reply #25 on: May 03, 2005, 05:34:59 PM »

I just bought my system and I'm having the
same problem.  This is not good that we all
are having this issue..  They are sending me
another console, but it sounds like that
will not fix my issue.....
Logged

robert

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 6
Re: Repetitive trouble alarm question
« Reply #26 on: May 03, 2005, 09:51:11 PM »

I am also having the same problem on my
front door.x-10 said use a motion sensor
instead.There is a real problem with these
dw sensors but only in some areas.All 5 of
my others are fine.I've tried all areas such
as new batts,moving console,etc
Logged

shag

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: Repetitive trouble alarm question
« Reply #27 on: May 10, 2005, 11:46:25 PM »

This needs to be addressed. I have had this
problem with all 4 Protector Plus units I
have installed. One in particular i finally
removed the d/w sensor from that door out of
frustration and now that is a week point in
the home security system. We should not have
to be putting in motion sensor instead,, fix
the darned problem with the d/w sensors
Logged

enrique hicks

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: Repetitive trouble alarm question
« Reply #28 on: May 15, 2005, 08:34:53 PM »

I have isntalled my home security system,
the problem I have is that every now and
then, one or other mtoion sensor doesnt
have contact with the console(the red led
at the console stays always on) so I have
to be presing the test buttons on the back
of them every now and then. Batteries are
all new. What could be the problem
Logged

shag

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: Repetitive trouble alarm question
« Reply #29 on: May 15, 2005, 08:51:13 PM »

Given all of the posts in this support site
i would have to say that there is an
inherent prolem wit the product. Maybe
everthing worked well before cell phones and
the norm in the househiold using 2.4 GHz as
well. I have no end of probs now with
installs,, false alarms, zones
getting "lost" ,, lights coming on all by
themselves..  I am losing customers and
sleep when I install these products. My
problem is I have abig stock of stuff and a
pretty large , approx $3000.oo investemnt.
We need support from X10 the company.. This
support group is great but we are all sayin
the same things.....
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.