Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: PLC01 Repeater - problems, solutions?  (Read 706 times)

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 141
  • Posts: 1002
Re: PLC01 Repeater - problems, solutions?
« Reply #15 on: June 30, 2021, 04:26:58 PM »

It's really a matter of 'raise the bridge (signal) or lower the river (noise)' so I think you'll find that the installation of one of Jeff's XTB-IIR devices at your panel will solve your problems against all but the most serious offenders.  Without one I would have given up on X10 many years ago.  Installing one breathed new life into X10 for me.  Compared to other X10 devices it's pricey but I've saved the cost many times over in time and frustration.  Jeff doesn't have many many left so buy one while you still can.  You WILL be amazed.
Logged

smatofu

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 45
Re: PLC01 Repeater - problems, solutions?
« Reply #16 on: June 30, 2021, 05:31:08 PM »

...buy one while you still can.  You WILL be amazed.

Yes, I know. I have to replenish my home automation budget and convince my wife that we need another device.

« Last Edit: June 30, 2021, 09:24:36 PM by smatofu »
Logged

smatofu

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 45
Re: PLC01 Repeater - problems, solutions?
« Reply #17 on: July 09, 2021, 08:33:43 AM »

Reporting back to the community:

After a lot of tweaking, the PLC01 works well!

I have it connected through an appliance module. I turn the PLC01 on at the beginning of macros (or after dimming sequences), and  I turn it off at the end. This is done to overcome PLC01 incompatibility with CM15A.

I also have a repeating schedule to turn the PLC01 off from my WM100 in case PLC01/CM15A floods the grid with "infinite chatting loop". An alternative solution would be to buy a short-time timer that would power cycle PLC01 every few minutes. This is needed because when PLC01/CM15A start chatting there is no stopping it other than unplugging PLC01 from power.

As you can see there is a lot of tweaking, but the macros are working flawlessly now with macros signal reaching every room (including rooms behind GFCI).

(Ultimately I will invest in XTB-IIR)

S.
« Last Edit: July 09, 2021, 08:37:36 AM by smatofu »
Logged

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 141
  • Posts: 1002
Re: PLC01 Repeater - problems, solutions?
« Reply #18 on: July 09, 2021, 10:06:49 AM »


(Ultimately I will invest in XTB-IIR)


Better do it soon, Jeff only has a handful left before they're gone for good.
Logged

JeffVolp

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 117
  • Posts: 2159
    • XTB Home Page
Re: PLC01 Repeater - problems, solutions?
« Reply #19 on: July 11, 2021, 09:20:28 AM »


(Ultimately I will invest in XTB-IIR)


Better do it soon, Jeff only has a handful left before they're gone for good.

14 new plus 1 refurb out of a total of 1660 as of 7/11.

Jeff
Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days
Pages: 1 [2]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.